We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to live at”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great place to enjoy the beautiful nature around. The rooms, dining room are renovated in English style with excellent taste. Hotel has its own free parking just next to the entrance door. The owners are very nice and helpful. Loved each minute I spent there. Great place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSStavr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay at White Lodge and the Lake District. We are very fortunate to being able to live here. Best wishes & Au Revoir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the White Lodge hotel during the last weekend of June for two nights.
Checked in on the Friday at around 8 pm and was shown our room unfortunately didn't receive any wine we was hoping for which is stated on the website you receive if you book 2 nights like we did.

The hotel is location is excellent, far enough away to remain quiet but still in walking distance of the lake, the bed wasn't comfortable and struggled to get a good nights sleep, also we had a late night after going to the theatre in Keswick on the Saturday which is worth a visit for the drive alone never mind the beautiful settings around it, well we were awoken on the Sunday by staff standing outside of our door chatting rather loud at around 7 in the morning. All in all served it purpose of resting our heads but it wasnt good enough to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry if you did not receive your wine mistakes do happen but
we would have given you a bottle with pleasure had we known. On the nights you stayed at White Lodge there was only one member of staff living in at the hotel & she would have come on duty at 8 am. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

just returned from three nights at the white lodge hotel, on arrival we were warmly greeted by one of the two ladies who run the hotel, shown our room (no 3 at back of hotel) the room was small but for our needs more than adequate the big plus was the new on suite lovely! . breakfast is taken in a very nice dining room where you will find fresh fruit and juices ,cereals and of course the full English breakfast, but if you want anything else the staff will oblige one lady asked for porridge followed by scrambled eggs no problem! on the whole the hotel is tidy, clean and warm. one tip if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back (very quiet) would we stay there again ? YES

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happytripper789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always upgrading & so glad you enjoyed
the new ensuite with the sparkly blue flooring.Look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Unfortunately our experience wasn't as pleasant as previous travellers. Having booked a one night stay in the area, decided to stay another night, as the hotel we were in could not accommodate us as they were fully booked, we enquired at the white lodger, we were told they had a room for our second night but it was a small double, we provisionally booked this room, told to call following morning to view the room. Decided that evening to have room anyway call to reserve. The girl on reception took us up to see room, small but spotlessly clean told her we would definitely have room. Called following morning to ask if we could park car told no problem offered to pay for room told to pay later, room would be ready for us when we arrived back, we got to hotel just after 4.30 to be told the room had been given away. Just to a word of warning make sure the communication between staff is up to scratch.

Room Tip: Just make sure reservation is confirmed. In writing not just in book as our name was in book!!!
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
16  Thank jmorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

We were very sorry about this miscommunication. This particular room is small & only let as a single but it was the only one we had left & to help you we agreed to let it to you as the town was
very busy. Your review omitted the fact that I offered to find you accommodation at our sister hotel but you declined this offer. Once more sorry it was a complete misunderstanding. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Me and my friend Ross booked two single rooms at the White Lodge Hotel for two nights starting Friday 5th July. We were initially attracted by the location, right in Bowness near the lake, and the reasonable price.

Our expectations were of a half decent place we could drop our kit off while hiking and get a good nights sleep. To say we were very pleasantly surprised would be a massive understatement.

Both bedrooms were excellent - not too small, very comfortable and absolutely spotless. The bathrooms were bright and very clean, surprisingly they looked like new.

The breakfast was very good value - none of this kept under a lamp rubbish. Breakfast was made to order each morning with quality ingredients and perfectly cooked.

The service was great too - all the staff were friendly without being obtrusive and incredibly helpful when we needed to store our stuff after checking out. They also took an interest in where we were hiking, I guess in case we failed to return! :-)

I really liked this hotel. So much so I've booked back in for a weekend in August and they'll always be the first place I try to look for availability if I'm heading to Windermere.

You really can't go wrong.

Room Tip: The single rooms on the top floor are great. Ask for the one with the skylight in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. My sister and I along with a small & dedicated team have been running White Lodge Hotel for some years. Look forward to seeing you again soon & Best wishes from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed two nights in July over a very hot weekend. Hotel is in a good quiet location with parking, which is a bonus. Short walk down the hill into the hustle and bustle of Boness. A very quiet, comfortable hotel - so quiet you hardly knew there were any other residents even though it was full. Chocolates and wine in the room was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shell58UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. With best wishes & hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in July this year with my mum. Intially when we arrived at 2pm, the room was not ready for us so we went a walk(luckily the weather was lovely) When we returned the room we were showed to our room which was downstairs, we had asked for a twin room when we booked but was given a double, not too much of a hassle though. The room was spotless and as was the bathroom and the bed was very comfortable. Though the room was downstairs and at the back of the hotel it was bright enough. We would have prefered an upstair room but it was fine for 2 nights. We had a bottle of wine and chocolates on arrival which was a nice touch. Breakfast was good, you could have anything you wanted, nothing was too much trouble. Location wise it was perfect, nice walk down to the lake, and a lovely stroll to Windermere. All in all it was a pleasant stay, but I think a lick of paint wouldnt go a miss!!

Room Tip: Ask for room upstairs
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
16  Thank ChazaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your review and all your lovely comments. We redecorate annually & also during
the season. Best wishes from all at White Lodge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,039 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £107 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
White Lodge Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing