We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RoyDante.”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

In a well located position. Owners and staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Clean, tidy, comfortable rooms with a good full English breakfast. Good parking in such a busy place. Plenty of local restaurants to choose from. Easy walking distance to Lake Windemere and town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated and we look forward to
welcoming you again to White Lodge
Best wishes from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in October & had a lovely stay. Comfortable & immaculately clean room. Hotel has bags of character & is in a great location. Everyone was super friendly & the breakfast was very hearty! Choccies & wine were a lovely touch. Have & would recommend & would love to come back some time ourselves. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Many thanks for your review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Pros
Good location, walking distance from Lake Windermere
Nice clean Bedrooms and bathrooms
Owners & staff helpful on demand or if anything required & spoke to us well on arrival and departure. Period
Cons
They claim to offer a Box of Chocolates for 1 day stay and a bottle of wine for 2 days. We were given none. As I see from other reviews, they conveniently forget.
Breakfast is of a very limited choice in terms of variety
In the dining area boxes of cornflakes and muesli were kept but there were no bowls or milk around. A bit forgetfull here too, for convenience???
Never seen paper bath mats in a Hotel/Guest House/B & B charging around GBP 96/night. These paper mats stick to your feet and actually dont absorb any water.
Heaters were present in the Bed and Bath rooms, but once you go to bed the supply was cut off and started before you wake up. Funny I observed this pattern on both the days.
Value for Money-Not under present conditions. They need to do more than customer expectations and definitely much more than their own claims.
Would I stay here again next time???? No there are definitely better options in Windermere, I know about.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RAMESHSHIRALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We do offer chocolates & wine if booked directly with us but not
through internet booking companies. The use of paper mats is more hygienic than any other material. I think that we are professional as witnessed by a great many repeat customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Decent location - easy walk to Windermere or Bowness.

Helpful staff. They were approachable and friendly without coming across as insincere.

Good breakfasts and very accommodating.

Good price.

No internet in rooms which is a serious drawback.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. There is wifi in most of the bedrooms & in all public rooms.
By November 2013 all the bedrooms will have wifi. With our good wishes & hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Here we are again at white lodge . We received. another fantastic welcome again. The standards are as usual of very high quality. Everyone is always helpful if you need advice on places to visit during your stay in the lakes. We will definitely be back again next year

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superman899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review. The most important aspect of running White Lodge
is being fortunate to meet people like yourselves. Look forward to seeing you next year and I presume you will be visiting the gingerbread shop again. Best wishes from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I needed somewhere with a single room for an overnight stay on a business trip, within easy reach of both Windermere station and the ferry across the lake. This was a short distance form the bus stop and an easy downhill walk to the Ferry Nab. My small single room (with a double bed) had an immaculate en suite shower/WC and basin and, although tucked under the eaves at the top, did not feel too cramped. There was a bit of traffic noise in the early evening but nothing to disturb me later. Breakfast offered sensible choices, good coffee and speedy service. Although there is free wifi the signal at the top of the building is very weak, but I am told this will be remedied in the future.

Room Tip: You need to be reasonably fit to get to the rooms on the top floor, as there are steep and fairly na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 48Gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you again. Best wishes from all at White Lodge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at the White Lodge Hotel for one night with my girlfriend. The B&B is clean, cosy and traditional!
It is exactly what I expected, small but pleasant room and a nice, new bathroom. We had a room with a 4 poster in it. The four poster was not very grand, just a pieces of wood around the bed, but still, was a nice novelty!
The breakfast was cooked brilliantly and tasted delicious. The hotel has ample parking and is only a 10min walk from the lake and restaurants/bars.
All in all this is a very pleasant B&B, nothing out of the ordinary, but did the job for us! I would recommend as a good base for visiting Bowness on Windermere. Thanks.

Room Tip: Don't bother going for the 4 poster bed as it is nothing special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Many thanks for your review. Hope you will choose to stay with us again. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,470 reviews
2.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,074 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £106 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
White Lodge Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing