We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest Lake District B&B”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good honest Lake District B&B”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The White Lodge Hotel delivers what it promises. It is clean, friendly, conveniently located, and serves great breakfasts. The rooms are entirely acceptable (and the mattresses above average for comfort!) though on the top floor, the stairs are quite steep and those with mobility issues might struggle. The parking is adequate (and important in Bowness). The Wi-Fi is fast and effective.

If you want to stay in a town in the Lake District, this is recommended. It is convenient for public transport, shops, restaurants, the Lake steamers on Lake Windermere and buses to the more remote part of the fells for walkers.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor if you find steep stairs challenging
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_from_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The most rewarding part of our job is when guests
have had a really good holiday. Best wishes from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    52
    26
    4
    7
See reviews for
51
105
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The White lodge is a friendly family run guest house with excellent service and they were very accommodating as we had two elderly disabled people with us
Highly recommended would certainly return
Many thanks

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wirralphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. My sister & I and our close knit team have been running
White Lodge for some years and it is always very welcome to receive such a review. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent a lovely weekend in Bowness recently, having never stayed in. B&B/Guesthouse before I have to admit I wasn't sure and worried it would be too old fashioned and not very private. However, I found it to be the opposite. A lady I believe called Jo is very helpful and everything we needed or requested was never a problem. Perhaps a little old fashioned but in pace with the whole town which is what you want. Exceptionally clean, outstanding actually and I'm very fussy. I agree with earlier comments that a seating area outside would be lovely and we would have made use of it in the afternoon. Parking is great, everything is in walking distance. The chap complaining about the key is just an idiot- a) why would this determine your decision and b) just take it off......
Breakfast was very good, high quality and very clean. A menu would be helpful but those who are not bashful " ask and you shall get" . Slept well, 4 poster bed with good linen. Free wine and chocs for booking direct. If you compare the area the rate is reasonable for the great location. Would stay again but would love a seating area outside

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Many thanks for your review. It is lovely to hear such positive comments.Best wishes from
all of us at White Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 1 night stay and would happily have stayed longer. The owners, 2 sisters, were very friendly and helpful. Our room , room 5, was a lovely four poster with a modern spacious ensuite.
Breakfast was wonderful. Proper bread used for the toast, no cheap and nasty supermarket stuff. The sausages were high quality and I'm guessing from a local butcher, again most definitely not cheepos from the nearest shop!
We were allowed to leave our car for a while after check out for a 50p donation to a conservation charity tin. More than willing and what a great idea!
Look forward to staying again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MTomoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review it is very much appreciated.My sister & I have
run White Lodge for some years. I must say it is a very enjoyable & interesting job.Best wishes
from us and hope we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Similar to another revue we were in room 12 which is a family room. Our stay was ok. The parking was good as was the location. The key that you get given however is quite inconvenient as the key is attached to a huge brass plaque which you have to carry around - so make sure you either have very deep pockets or a bag !!

Breakfast wasnt that great, it filled us up but the quality was lacking and we were both pretty disappointed.

However, the room itself was nice and big, they supply shampoo and soap, tea coffee and biscuits ( we too as mentioned by someone else did not recieve chocolates but we didnt book direct). Overall an ok stay, good for a one night stop off and good to see the local area but not overly impressed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blackrosepetals91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We are usually complimented on our breakfast not only on quality but also quantity & choice.
Just to recap we offer fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts & a breakfast cooked to order which
includes eggs from a local farm (poached,fried, or scrambled) bacon & sausage from the
best butcher in the lakes, tomatoes,baked beans,mushrooms & hash browns.Accompanied by
wholemeal & farmhouse bread.Cafetieres of freshly ground coffee & tea.We also have a variety
of herbal teas & decaff tea or coffee.The Great English Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West midlands
Level Contributor
172 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for one night, our room 12 was a family room with double bed and a single in the corner, with bath and shower (didn't book a family room though) on the ground floor at the back of the hotel which is quiet our own back door enabling us to bring the luggage in at our pace. It must be a seasonal thing as we found the price was high for what we had. next door room 14 was even smaller and just a shower. But apart from that all staff were polite, helpful and breakfast was adequate. Free wifi no freeview channels.
Outside of our window was a gravelled space which could have had a couple of chairs and a table to sit outside in the late afternoon sunshine and fill the empty flower pots with a few flowers instead of weeds, am I being picky !!

Room Tip: Room 12 is a family room with own access and parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your somewhat biased review.Both the Family room and the Double room are of
a good size. I am afraid that the pots you described as being full of weeds are actually filled with
lavender. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A very interesting Victorian building with a wonderfully authentic period dining room - including some historic interior photographs framed on the walls - fascinating. All very bright, light, clean and comfortable - super traditional breakfast and the owners are charming, cultured and artistic. Surprisingly quiet once the shops are shut, we had a lovely night's sleep though we were at the front corner of the hotel, bordering the main road. A very nice place to stop over.

Room Tip: Four-poster room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenKnibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review White Lodge. The house has had many interesting lives
and we were so glad that you enjoyed your stay. With our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
336 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
959 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Property: White Lodge Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
White Lodge Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing