We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the White Lodge with family and we all enjoyed our stay. Staff were friendly and informed us of places to visit the hotel is located in a good location and everything is within walking distance. The rooms were comfortable and the hotel itself had lots of charcter and history. Only negative aspect was the bathroom not having a lock

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Minhaj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

It was kind of you to write a review and it was much appreciated. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Planned a stay in Windermere with family and decided to go with the White Lodge because of the positive reviews. There was 8 of us and we had booked 3 rooms. The rooms looked cosy and had Victorian features whilst looking very classic. The bathroom was very clean and looked like it had been refurbished recently, which is a good sign. Breakfast was delicious, we went for the Vegetarian option.

Liz was enthusiastic and very caring, she has huge knowledge of the area and was able to suggest fantastic places to visit. The hotel is situated at a very good location, it has easy access to all shops and it's in Windermere. It offers free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel with a very good connection. It has good parking spaces too. Would return to this hotel, if I'm ever staying in Windermere. Great for all types of people, family, friends and children.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoUddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The most rewarding part of our job is when guests
have had a really good holiday. Best wishes from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The White Lodge Hotel delivers what it promises. It is clean, friendly, conveniently located, and serves great breakfasts. The rooms are entirely acceptable (and the mattresses above average for comfort!) though on the top floor, the stairs are quite steep and those with mobility issues might struggle. The parking is adequate (and important in Bowness). The Wi-Fi is fast and effective.

If you want to stay in a town in the Lake District, this is recommended. It is convenient for public transport, shops, restaurants, the Lake steamers on Lake Windermere and buses to the more remote part of the fells for walkers.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor if you find steep stairs challenging
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John_from_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The most rewarding part of our job is when guests
have had a really good holiday. Best wishes from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The White lodge is a friendly family run guest house with excellent service and they were very accommodating as we had two elderly disabled people with us
Highly recommended would certainly return
Many thanks

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wirralphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. My sister & I and our close knit team have been running
White Lodge for some years and it is always very welcome to receive such a review. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent a lovely weekend in Bowness recently, having never stayed in. B&B/Guesthouse before I have to admit I wasn't sure and worried it would be too old fashioned and not very private. However, I found it to be the opposite. A lady I believe called Jo is very helpful and everything we needed or requested was never a problem. Perhaps a little old fashioned but in pace with the whole town which is what you want. Exceptionally clean, outstanding actually and I'm very fussy. I agree with earlier comments that a seating area outside would be lovely and we would have made use of it in the afternoon. Parking is great, everything is in walking distance. The chap complaining about the key is just an idiot- a) why would this determine your decision and b) just take it off......
Breakfast was very good, high quality and very clean. A menu would be helpful but those who are not bashful " ask and you shall get" . Slept well, 4 poster bed with good linen. Free wine and chocs for booking direct. If you compare the area the rate is reasonable for the great location. Would stay again but would love a seating area outside

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Many thanks for your review. It is lovely to hear such positive comments.Best wishes from
all of us at White Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just returned from a 1 night stay and would happily have stayed longer. The owners, 2 sisters, were very friendly and helpful. Our room , room 5, was a lovely four poster with a modern spacious ensuite.
Breakfast was wonderful. Proper bread used for the toast, no cheap and nasty supermarket stuff. The sausages were high quality and I'm guessing from a local butcher, again most definitely not cheepos from the nearest shop!
We were allowed to leave our car for a while after check out for a 50p donation to a conservation charity tin. More than willing and what a great idea!
Look forward to staying again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MTomoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review it is very much appreciated.My sister & I have
run White Lodge for some years. I must say it is a very enjoyable & interesting job.Best wishes
from us and hope we may see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Similar to another revue we were in room 12 which is a family room. Our stay was ok. The parking was good as was the location. The key that you get given however is quite inconvenient as the key is attached to a huge brass plaque which you have to carry around - so make sure you either have very deep pockets or a bag !!

Breakfast wasnt that great, it filled us up but the quality was lacking and we were both pretty disappointed.

However, the room itself was nice and big, they supply shampoo and soap, tea coffee and biscuits ( we too as mentioned by someone else did not recieve chocolates but we didnt book direct). Overall an ok stay, good for a one night stop off and good to see the local area but not overly impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank blackrosepetals91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We are usually complimented on our breakfast not only on quality but also quantity & choice.
Just to recap we offer fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts & a breakfast cooked to order which
includes eggs from a local farm (poached,fried, or scrambled) bacon & sausage from the
best butcher in the lakes, tomatoes,baked beans,mushrooms & hash browns.Accompanied by
wholemeal & farmhouse bread.Cafetieres of freshly ground coffee & tea.We also have a variety
of herbal teas & decaff tea or coffee.The Great English Breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £107 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
White Lodge Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing