We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We have just returned from a two day visit to Ambleside on 26 August 2014. The White Lodge Hotel was perfect. The owners and staff friendly and welcoming. Room 8 was beautiful, spotlessly clean, towels really soft and everything you need. The view from our window outstanding. Lovely touch chocolates and wine for staying two nights. Breakfast excellent, set you up for the day. The hotel is really cosy and lots of character. The location central and all within walking distance. Booked our return trip already.

Elaine & Neil

Room Tip: Room 8 beautiful but if you have trouble with stairs you would be better on level 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshgad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Hello Elaine and Neil thank you for your review. We are on Lake Windermere at Bowness which is
in the centre of the lake. Ambleside is just a little further north. Best wishes and hope to see you
soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the White Lodge Hotel for two nights. It is excellently situated for Bowness and the four poster bedroom was beautiful.

The breakfast was of a high quality and the staff were all very welcoming and accommodating.

We have made numerous visits to Bowness and will be staying at the White Lodge Hotel in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VicG1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Thank you for your kind review. My sister and I along with our small dedicated team have enjoyed
running White Lodge for some years.Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the White Lodge with family and we all enjoyed our stay. Staff were friendly and informed us of places to visit the hotel is located in a good location and everything is within walking distance. The rooms were comfortable and the hotel itself had lots of charcter and history. Only negative aspect was the bathroom not having a lock

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Minhaj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

It was kind of you to write a review and it was much appreciated. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Planned a stay in Windermere with family and decided to go with the White Lodge because of the positive reviews. There was 8 of us and we had booked 3 rooms. The rooms looked cosy and had Victorian features whilst looking very classic. The bathroom was very clean and looked like it had been refurbished recently, which is a good sign. Breakfast was delicious, we went for the Vegetarian option.

Liz was enthusiastic and very caring, she has huge knowledge of the area and was able to suggest fantastic places to visit. The hotel is situated at a very good location, it has easy access to all shops and it's in Windermere. It offers free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel with a very good connection. It has good parking spaces too. Would return to this hotel, if I'm ever staying in Windermere. Great for all types of people, family, friends and children.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoUddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The most rewarding part of our job is when guests
have had a really good holiday. Best wishes from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The White Lodge Hotel delivers what it promises. It is clean, friendly, conveniently located, and serves great breakfasts. The rooms are entirely acceptable (and the mattresses above average for comfort!) though on the top floor, the stairs are quite steep and those with mobility issues might struggle. The parking is adequate (and important in Bowness). The Wi-Fi is fast and effective.

If you want to stay in a town in the Lake District, this is recommended. It is convenient for public transport, shops, restaurants, the Lake steamers on Lake Windermere and buses to the more remote part of the fells for walkers.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor if you find steep stairs challenging
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John_from_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The most rewarding part of our job is when guests
have had a really good holiday. Best wishes from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The White lodge is a friendly family run guest house with excellent service and they were very accommodating as we had two elderly disabled people with us
Highly recommended would certainly return
Many thanks

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wirralphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. My sister & I and our close knit team have been running
White Lodge for some years and it is always very welcome to receive such a review. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent a lovely weekend in Bowness recently, having never stayed in. B&B/Guesthouse before I have to admit I wasn't sure and worried it would be too old fashioned and not very private. However, I found it to be the opposite. A lady I believe called Jo is very helpful and everything we needed or requested was never a problem. Perhaps a little old fashioned but in pace with the whole town which is what you want. Exceptionally clean, outstanding actually and I'm very fussy. I agree with earlier comments that a seating area outside would be lovely and we would have made use of it in the afternoon. Parking is great, everything is in walking distance. The chap complaining about the key is just an idiot- a) why would this determine your decision and b) just take it off......
Breakfast was very good, high quality and very clean. A menu would be helpful but those who are not bashful " ask and you shall get" . Slept well, 4 poster bed with good linen. Free wine and chocs for booking direct. If you compare the area the rate is reasonable for the great location. Would stay again but would love a seating area outside

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Many thanks for your review. It is lovely to hear such positive comments.Best wishes from
all of us at White Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,947 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,040 reviews
2.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £107 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
White Lodge Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing