We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing fish and chips with lovely, friendly owners made for a delightful lunch.”
Review of Seafarers

Seafarers
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing fish and chips with lovely, friendly owners made for a delightful lunch.”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Wow! We visited the lakes from Manchester for a couple of days. Whilst in Windermere we struggled to find a fish and chip shop, but luckily stumbled across this little gem on leaving (which was lucky as it is not signposted at all!). The fish was beautiful, with light, crispy, non-greasy batter, and everything was hot and freshly cooked (the owner explained that he only ever cooks to order, ensuring the highest quality every time!). Owned by the most friendly and welcoming man from the Philippines. I was truly impressed with how authentic and traditional the fish 'n chips are. The fact that the owners are not British really shouldn't deter anybody from trying the food, as it is cooked to perfection! Can't wait to return when we next visit the Lakes!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomio84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    33
    21
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Quick efficient and very friendly service - wonderful fish & chips - reasonably priced. Even though it was quite late when we visited the Chips and fish were freshly cooked. Definitely recommend a visit if in the area .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrissie46-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible batter!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

A very warm welcome from the husband and wife owners. The fish is freshly cooked fish to order with the most delicious and light batter too.

Great value, good portion size.

Will come again and again when in Bowness.

Better than the other fish and chip shop....helpful info :)

Helpful?
Thank lightningfingers_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blyth, northumberland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good little chippy”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Visited with my fiancé and had a lovely portion of fish and chips. Not the best I've ever had but still good quality and a reasonable price. Staff are very friendly. Nice and clean and the option to sit inside or outside too. Definitely worth a go

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nelmsteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish and chips in Bowness-on-Windermere”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Had a much better experiance of fish and chips here than when we tried the other fish and chip shop in Bowness-on-Windermere a few months ago. Seafarers gives various options of fish which the cooked fresh for us. The fish cake was the best fish cake I have had in a fish and chip shop. Will definitely be returning to here next time I visit Bowness-on-Windermere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SineadEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seafarers also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Seafarers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing