We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a quick fix”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Seafarers

Seafarers
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a quick fix”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

It was ok but not the best chippy ive ever had. It hit the spot though and filled our bellies. A little on the pricey side too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CJWaldron88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    33
    21
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
249 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Strange considering last review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We also visited on 31st December but had a completely different experience to previous reviewer. I am the most fussy person alive with my food especially fish. Ours were gorgeous most certainly cod I won't eat pollock, the chips also very nice indeed we called again twice more during our visit. The owners who are there now have had the chip shop over eight years it hasn't changed hands recently and also remains very popular with local residents. We shall most certainly visit again when next in bowness.

Helpful?
2 Thank amberpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheated - load of pollacks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

This used to be the best f&c shop we knew until now. Maybe the ownership has changed recently because ours were truly appalling. Tiny fish and although we ordered haddock this was definitely one of those cheaper fishes like coley or pollack. Chips white and greasy even the fish batter was a disappointment , not crunchy. It will be a long time before we return !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing fish and chips with lovely, friendly owners made for a delightful lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Wow! We visited the lakes from Manchester for a couple of days. Whilst in Windermere we struggled to find a fish and chip shop, but luckily stumbled across this little gem on leaving (which was lucky as it is not signposted at all!). The fish was beautiful, with light, crispy, non-greasy batter, and everything was hot and freshly cooked (the owner explained that he only ever cooks to order, ensuring the highest quality every time!). Owned by the most friendly and welcoming man from the Philippines. I was truly impressed with how authentic and traditional the fish 'n chips are. The fact that the owners are not British really shouldn't deter anybody from trying the food, as it is cooked to perfection! Can't wait to return when we next visit the Lakes!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomio84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Quick efficient and very friendly service - wonderful fish & chips - reasonably priced. Even though it was quite late when we visited the Chips and fish were freshly cooked. Definitely recommend a visit if in the area .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrissie46-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seafarers also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Seafarers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing