We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seafarers

Seafarers
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Tiny fish and chip shop opposite the Beatrice Potter attraction. The owners were very friendly and falling over themselves to be helpful. The batter on the fish was the lightest I've ever tasted. The kids meal of fish bites and chips was huge and would easily have fed an adult. We visited in the sunshine so sat at a little table outside on the pavement. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    33
    21
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely chips”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We recently came to you chip shop while on our visit up to the lakes, we called in once for fish and chips asked for 1 cod and 1 haddock but neither of the fish were cod or haddock they were just some kind of white fish but tasteless... Other than the dreadfull fish the chips were lovely so went up to the other chip shop vinegar jones to get a decent fish which was lovely... We will come back but only for chips!! and the staff were very friendly and helpful aswell :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a quick fix”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It was ok but not the best chippy ive ever had. It hit the spot though and filled our bellies. A little on the pricey side too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CJWaldron88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
248 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Strange considering last review”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We also visited on 31st December but had a completely different experience to previous reviewer. I am the most fussy person alive with my food especially fish. Ours were gorgeous most certainly cod I won't eat pollock, the chips also very nice indeed we called again twice more during our visit. The owners who are there now have had the chip shop over eight years it hasn't changed hands recently and also remains very popular with local residents. We shall most certainly visit again when next in bowness.

Helpful?
2 Thank amberpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheated - load of pollacks”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This used to be the best f&c shop we knew until now. Maybe the ownership has changed recently because ours were truly appalling. Tiny fish and although we ordered haddock this was definitely one of those cheaper fishes like coley or pollack. Chips white and greasy even the fish batter was a disappointment , not crunchy. It will be a long time before we return !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seafarers also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Seafarers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing