We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Jintana Thai Restaurant
Price range: US$10 - US$17
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Jintana Thai Restaurant is nestled in the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere in the heart of the English Lake District. Open since 2004, the restaurant offers diners a relaxed, friendly environment in which to enjoy our freshly prepared authentic Thai Cuisine. Decorated with imported Thai furniture, artwork and artifacts, our dining area provides the perfect setting to enjoy our wide selection of meat, seafood and vegetarian dishes, each of which is freshly prepared to order by our team of experienced Thai chefs. Jintana Thai Restaurant is perfect for couples, and also for families and large parties, with its cosy and intimate surroundings everyone is welcome. As soon as you step inside, you are greeted with a warm welcome by our staff dressed in traditional Thai costumes.
Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We both love Thai food but have limited access to it in our hometown so always try a Thai meal when away. This was particularly good, with lots of variety on the menu. We had two courses and all was delicious. I also had a mango margarita which I would thoroughly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank CMAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    675
    332
    140
    61
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top draw”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First time here but not the last. Top draw service. Lovely food. All round good meal. Will be returning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahh1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Not good!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Though I turned up in time for the special meal price they advertised outside they refused to give it to me! When I ordered food for my son and me we were told that the Chicken Thai Green Coconut Curry was not hot and the menu even rated this as mild. It was so hot that my son could not eat it and comparing to many Thai Restaurant curries I have eaten this restaurant was disgraceful!!! I do recommend that you do not go there!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jintanathai, Manager at Jintana Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
The early evening special £12.95 two course menu runs until 6pm. The till system is programmed to change the prices automatically after this time back to the standard menu. This eliminates any errors. You were therefore NOT on time! The Green Curry is clearly marked with a bright red chilli on the menu to indicate it is spicy. Please do not hold us responsible for your poor parenting choice to feed this to your son. Our curries use authentic imported ingredients, and are cooked by experienced Thai chefs. One last note, had you brought this to our attention at the time, we would have happily cooked another dish for your son that was more suitable for children. Please use Trip Advisor for constructive reviews rather than a platform for a tantrum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Jintana on a recent Sunday evening and have to say it was one of the best Thai meals we have had for a long time. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Service was first class. We ordered the tom yum soup and Thai fish cakes, and both were delicious. For our mains I had the chicken jungle curry which was very spicy, just how I like it. My wife had the spicy prawn salad, equally delicious. Prices were reasonable and excellent value for money. Would definitely go back!

Helpful?
Thank Jinkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Thai I've Had in a While”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This restaurant was very very good - we love Thai and my partner and I agreed that this was some of the best Green Curry we've had. The staff was courteous, the food quick and hot! Definitely go here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jintana Thai Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jintana Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing