We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stopped for three nights after we got married”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Field House Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stopped for three nights after we got married”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We were taken on a surprise trip by our sister and brother in law, who had stayed twice before. Field House is just a lovely place to stay ,we couldnt have been made more welcome,great views of windermere from our bedroom.and a lovely breakfast ,cooked in view of our table...what great layout. would like to thank Frank and family for their hospitality ...especially the bottle of champagne and card.....a lovely touch. My wife and i will certainly book again. Simon and Joanne Teager

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    40
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
40
111
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

The guest house is in a perfect position; a short walk from all the restaurants and pubs, but just far enough away to avoid noise. It is decorated beautifully and was very clean. The owners are really friendly and welcoming and give tips on walks and restaurants/pubs to visit etc. Breakfast tasted amazing and there was music playing (which made it much more comfortable than others I’ve visited). Our room was a good size and had a good lake view. There were toiletries and tea/coffee facilities. We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

The staff were very friendly and the breakfasts were great - lots of food on piping hot plates! The room was spotlessly clean, and the shower, although small, was lovely and warm. We would certainly stay there again if we were in the area. Interesting light fittings! One of the owners paints some amazing pictures which are displayed around the premises.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front suffer a wee bit from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

We went for a few days away, to relax. The staff we're very friendly and helpful. Family run b&b which helped to make it more of a warm and relaxed place to stay, breakfast was fab, we certainly weren't left feeling hungry. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luisabluegeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Spring, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

My stay at the Field House was absolutely fabulous. The room was clean and beautifully decorated, the bed very comfy, and the breakfasts were delishious. The location is very convenient for accessing many local spots for shopping, eating, drinking, etc. The owners are friendly and very accommodating. A wonderful experience all around!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Recently spent a couple of nights here and it was exactly what we wanted. Friendly staff, warm welcome, comfortable room with a great view of the lake and well located for the shops and restaurants and the lake. Excellent breakfast prepared in an open plan kitchen with music to set you up for the day! Art work on the walls by the owner is a talking point and gives the whole place a great atmosphere. Car parking was no problem as they have reserved spaces at the back of the property away from the main road. (There are lots of steps but this was not a problem for us) Our room was at the back and it was peaceful and quiet at night. Would definitely recommend staying here particularly if you don't want to use your car all the time.

Room Tip: Lake View rooms on the back are quieter as they are away from the main road. Quite a few steps so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishaw
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed at this Guest House mid October on a weekend break with my husband. Stumbled across it at booking.com after spending days trying to find a suitable place. Lovely welcome from Corinne who showed us to our room overlooking the lake. Room was very nice and modern. Huge bed with very nice bedding. Bathroom as in previous reviews was small but perfectly adequate. Shower wasn't very powerful but did the job. No toiletries apart from small bar of soap but we had our own. Plenty of tea and coffee provided on tray but biscuits would have been a nice touch. Breakfast was lovely. Cereal, full breakfast, toast and coffee. Lovely bacon! Music played at breakfast which was a nice touch as well. Guest House nice and quiet although it appeared to be full. Free parking at rear of house. Views to the lake were an added bonus and we would return to this nice Guest House. Nice owners who made us feel welcome.
Two minutes from town centre with plenty of restaurants and bars. Would recommend Churchills at the bottom of the hill. Lovely meal and good entertainment on the Saturday night.

Room Tip: Ask for room 5 overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiggyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#28 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Lake View Guest House & Coffee S...
#42 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#16 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lonsdale House
Lonsdale House
#14 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Field House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Field House Guest House

Property: Field House Guest House
Address: 6 Belsfield Terrrace, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Field House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Field House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Field House Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Field House Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing