We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Field House Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful :)”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Myself and my partner Mark stayed here for 2 nights over this weekend and from arrival to leaving everything about the stay was wonderful. The room we had was beautiful and immaculate in cleanliness the bed was so comfy and extremely large no fighting for space in this one :) The owners were so lovely nothing was any trouble and we felt so relaxed during the whole stay. I was admiring the art work that is displayed throughout the Hotel to then find out Frank one of he owners is the Artist his work is amazing. Breakfast is perfect fresh cooked In front of you and the Music being played adds a lovely relaxed touch to a morning wakening with delicious food served. We stay in The lakes a few times a year and have done so for many years and I would have to say in my experience over those years that this is the BEST one yet and we shall be returning.
Thank you Collette Theresa & Frank for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EP4MEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    47
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
43
121
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A very warm welcome from our hosts Frank, Collette and Theresa. THE most comfortable bed ever, and the tea and coffee facilities in our room was welcomed when we got home each evening. A wonderful full English breakfast each morning, cooked fresh and to perfection and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent location in Bowness and parking space a bonus. Field House is tastefully decorated and paintings by our host Frank adorn each wall. Hopefully we will be returning soon, work permitting !!

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view are quieter and do not have the street light shining in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We found this GEM on booking.com.
We stayed for one night B&B...what a lovely place...hosts Colette and Teresa were so welcoming.We arrived a little early,but that was no problem as our room was ready.
We had room 4 which is at the front of the building,there are some beautiful rooms at the back overlooking the lakes.
The ART WORK and Decor is Fab ...
Breakfast,which is cooked in front of you is a nice touch...and of course Dean Martin cd in the background,which made it very relaxed and friendly breakfast experience...Hubby had the full English and I chose poached eggs on toast,cooked just perfect.
We will definitely be back again when we get the chance!!!
Many thanks to you both,look forward to seeing you again.Thank youuuuuuuu

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyboo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have visited this establishment twice previously.We book our stay the day before. On arrival there was no one there to let us in. We had informed them that we would be arriving between 7:30 and 8 pm. We were stood outside for nearly 25 minutes till someone finally arrived to see us in. She had clearly been drinking and was carrying another bottle.
She then informed us that due to a leak in the shower our flat was no longer available so she had booked is in at another hotel just up the road. She told us that it was a good hotel (B&B) and was the same price. Problems do occur so we accepted this.
The other hotel was nowhere as good and actually turned out to be £15 dearer. We returned to the Field house the next day and told them about the cost difference and suggested that should pay the difference as it was their fault not ours and they had informed us that the cost would be the same.Having my own establishment I have fully compensated customers when a problem has occured. Their smiley attitude suddenly changed and they refused point blank to pay the difference which we had actually negotiated down to £10.
We were informed by another establishment that this type of error has occurred several times and they were not in the least bit surprised and mentioned a party of four that had turned up for a wedding to find they had no accomodation . If you want to be sure of a problem free break I would avoid this place .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Barbara

Endorse Lynda Lloyds comments and to add, we had a last minute tailoring problem and they were really helpful in providing, scissors, needle and cotton and an iron. Also provided glasses for our own pre-dinner drinks, also letting us chill the wine in their fridge.

Lovely!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amysgrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

First time we have stayed at Field House and can't wait to go back we had a great weekend and our experience of field house went a long way in contributing to that. A Family run business and you would have to go a long way to find better Hosts than Theresa, Collette and Frank. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable, welcoming and VERY enjoyable. Nothing is too much trouble, but I have to say we didn't have to ask for anything as they seemed to have thought of everything anyway! We were large party of 5 couples and everyone really enjoyed their stay. Really great location near the Lake and close to local shops, pubs, restaurants, Thanks Theresa, Colly and Frank, just what the 'Doctor' ordered, hope to see you again soon. 'Harold' and Lynda

Room Tip: Lake view rooms have a fantastic vista. Ground floor room available and free parking at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda_lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have two children and are not used to getting a room of this standard, Great views of the lake and a proper bed for the children. The owners were friendly and the place was lovely and clean. Excellent location, free parking and breakfast is cooked in front of you!!! What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#27 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Field House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Field House Guest House

Property: Field House Guest House
Address: 6 Belsfield Terrrace, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Field House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Field House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Field House Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Field House Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing