We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful. Just Awful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Field House Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the Field House Guest House for 2 nights and I will never be going back there again. I didn't realise that it was still legal to smoke in doors, so was in for a treat when the hosts were smoking downstairs in their living area, stinking the rest of the place out. We were consistently hassled by the owner regarding other parties cancelling late notice which was also very annoying, as I was not them.

It was also very odd how we did not receive any confirmation when booking the rooms. Had to ring back a few times to confirm that we had actually been booked it. Sure enough we had, but was also odd that we were asked to settle the bill in cash and weren't offered a receipt. Then after the bill was settled, we were told that we owed another £10 per night because we had a lake view. Having had no confirmation of the booking, this was not acceptable. We did not ask for a lake view, nor was it a particularly good view, as the lake is about quarter of a mile aware and theres just was ground behind the hotel. I didn't pay the extra £20, it was essentially daylight robbery.

The plumbing is in the dark ages. Every time upstairs went to the toilet we knew about it, put it that way.

The whole thing was a bitter taste to swallow. Its only saving grace was the breakfast was very nice indeed. But thats it really. Avoid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PM1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Myself and my partner Mark stayed here for 2 nights over this weekend and from arrival to leaving everything about the stay was wonderful. The room we had was beautiful and immaculate in cleanliness the bed was so comfy and extremely large no fighting for space in this one :) The owners were so lovely nothing was any trouble and we felt so relaxed during the whole stay. I was admiring the art work that is displayed throughout the Hotel to then find out Frank one of he owners is the Artist his work is amazing. Breakfast is perfect fresh cooked In front of you and the Music being played adds a lovely relaxed touch to a morning wakening with delicious food served. We stay in The lakes a few times a year and have done so for many years and I would have to say in my experience over those years that this is the BEST one yet and we shall be returning.
Thank you Collette Theresa & Frank for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EP4MEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A very warm welcome from our hosts Frank, Collette and Theresa. THE most comfortable bed ever, and the tea and coffee facilities in our room was welcomed when we got home each evening. A wonderful full English breakfast each morning, cooked fresh and to perfection and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent location in Bowness and parking space a bonus. Field House is tastefully decorated and paintings by our host Frank adorn each wall. Hopefully we will be returning soon, work permitting !!

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view are quieter and do not have the street light shining in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We found this GEM on booking.com.
We stayed for one night B&B...what a lovely place...hosts Colette and Teresa were so welcoming.We arrived a little early,but that was no problem as our room was ready.
We had room 4 which is at the front of the building,there are some beautiful rooms at the back overlooking the lakes.
The ART WORK and Decor is Fab ...
Breakfast,which is cooked in front of you is a nice touch...and of course Dean Martin cd in the background,which made it very relaxed and friendly breakfast experience...Hubby had the full English and I chose poached eggs on toast,cooked just perfect.
We will definitely be back again when we get the chance!!!
Many thanks to you both,look forward to seeing you again.Thank youuuuuuuu

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyboo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have visited this establishment twice previously.We book our stay the day before. On arrival there was no one there to let us in. We had informed them that we would be arriving between 7:30 and 8 pm. We were stood outside for nearly 25 minutes till someone finally arrived to see us in. She had clearly been drinking and was carrying another bottle.
She then informed us that due to a leak in the shower our flat was no longer available so she had booked is in at another hotel just up the road. She told us that it was a good hotel (B&B) and was the same price. Problems do occur so we accepted this.
The other hotel was nowhere as good and actually turned out to be £15 dearer. We returned to the Field house the next day and told them about the cost difference and suggested that should pay the difference as it was their fault not ours and they had informed us that the cost would be the same.Having my own establishment I have fully compensated customers when a problem has occured. Their smiley attitude suddenly changed and they refused point blank to pay the difference which we had actually negotiated down to £10.
We were informed by another establishment that this type of error has occurred several times and they were not in the least bit surprised and mentioned a party of four that had turned up for a wedding to find they had no accomodation . If you want to be sure of a problem free break I would avoid this place .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Barbara

Endorse Lynda Lloyds comments and to add, we had a last minute tailoring problem and they were really helpful in providing, scissors, needle and cotton and an iron. Also provided glasses for our own pre-dinner drinks, also letting us chill the wine in their fridge.

Lovely!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amysgrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

First time we have stayed at Field House and can't wait to go back we had a great weekend and our experience of field house went a long way in contributing to that. A Family run business and you would have to go a long way to find better Hosts than Theresa, Collette and Frank. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable, welcoming and VERY enjoyable. Nothing is too much trouble, but I have to say we didn't have to ask for anything as they seemed to have thought of everything anyway! We were large party of 5 couples and everyone really enjoyed their stay. Really great location near the Lake and close to local shops, pubs, restaurants, Thanks Theresa, Colly and Frank, just what the 'Doctor' ordered, hope to see you again soon. 'Harold' and Lynda

Room Tip: Lake view rooms have a fantastic vista. Ground floor room available and free parking at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda_lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,491 reviews
0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#14 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Field House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Field House Guest House

Address: 6 Belsfield Terrrace, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £91 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Field House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Field House Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Field House Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing