We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little B&B”
Review of The Westbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a very charming stay for one night at this B&B in September 2013. The room was lovely with a lot of character. The hosts were very welcoming and not too intrusive. Breakfast was delicious and made to order. The only reason I didn't give a 5 star rating was due to the chair by the window needing cleaning (there was dirt or something over it) and the tv was in a hard to see location so a little room re-organising was in order but otherwise a great b&b in a central Windermere location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butterz1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for just one night. We've been to Windermere before but were pleasantly surprised by the comfort and quality. The hosts were really friendly and the addition of a well furnished lounge with mini bar was an added bonus. Breakfast was excellent, including local produce. Definitely worth a stay but book in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Me and my partner spend a night at this charming hotel. The hosts are very friendly, and the hotel is quite clean. Unfortunately, the room we were given was tiny and the toilet/shower room was fit for borrowers. Apart from that though, the breakfast was very nice and some of the ingredients, such as the sausages used, are locally sourced which is always a bonus! All in all, we would visit again due to friendly staff and lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights in August, there were 4 of us so we had 2 rooms. Excellent B & B the hosts very welcoming and gave great service. Wonderful breakfasts and high standard of rooms. Very good value for money, just a short walk down to the lake. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The room with the 4 poster bed has good views and a nice big shower cubicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A business contact recommended the Westbourne to me recently and as we were looking to break up our journey to Scotland and back,it sounded ideal.I rang them direct and the very polite and helpful chap on the telephone,Howard,accepted my booking with no fuss.We found the Westbourne with ease and were quickly shown to our room in person,which was absolutely immaculate,as was the entire establishment. The entire place was very tastefully decorated as was our bedroom which together with a four poster bed,was both very attractive and more importantly extremely comfortable.The bathroom was totally pristine and though had it just a shower but not a bath which my wife prefers, but due to the clever way the rest of the space was utilised,it was not a problem..The view was very good and the chaise longue was another nice touch.The owners were extremely pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was of the highest standard you could ever wish for anywhere in the world."I don't think it's humanly possible to improve on the English breakfast we were served up".The location was just a 5 minute stroll to all the amenities.I would recommend that you book direct and the price we paid in my opinion for such incredibly high standards was a bargain!! We will be back and will happily recommend to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: For the price,the quality and the care and thought provided,i very much doubt their is a bad room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bescoby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just stayed at the Westbourne, a friendly well presented property, comfortable and spotless. Would recommend to anyone. Proprietors friendly and welcoming, advised on what to see and how to get around area. This property has a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at The Westbourne . They were very friendly and welcoming.
The honesty bar is a great idea and the rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The guest house is in a great location and they have their own private off street parking which you don't often get with this type of accommodation.Lovely breakfast but like all B and Bs it is too early! Would be great if they served it later than 9:15.
Definitely recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbourne

Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £58 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westbourne Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Westbourne Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing