We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!!!”
Review of The Westbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We normally do self-catering in the Lake District, but this time treated ourselves to an overnight stay at The Westbourne. Lovely facilities, excellent breakfast. Will make sure we stay there again soon.

Room Tip: If all the rooms were as good as the one we were in, then you would be spoilt for choice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    63
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
302
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

very friendly staff, lovely breakfast with plenty of choice, lovely location, very clean and comfortable room. would definitely recommend to anybody choosing to stay in the lake district. great location as in walking distance from the main strip of bars restaurants and local shops.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I cannot fault our stay at The Westbourne, finishing, fittings and hospitality all really great. The room (room 3) was lovely, all you could want, warm, clean and cozy, not a single fault. No doubt, we will stay again...... If we can get booked in!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank runjulie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

What a great place this is to stay. It is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the town, but not too far to walk to the shops, bars & restaurants. The room was well presented and had excellent views of the hills. Breakfast was very nice with fresh fruit, cereal, yogurts and a full English. The staff can't do enough for you. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna635915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greasby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I booked this place after noting its ranking on trip advisor for B and B in Bowness and previous reviews. I rang the owner direct instead of booking through an internet booking site and was rewarded with a discount for booking direct. From the moment I contacted the owner the service throughout was exemplary. I was arranging a surprise and the owners ensured he only contacted m though my preferred means of contact. I asked his advice are local restaurants and he provided me with some recommendation but also offered to make bookings for me if I was struggling. From when we arrived the owner greeted us at the door and offered to take our luggage. The room was large and very comfortable (room 7), the bathroom a little smaller and the shower was in need of some upgrading but was practical and functional. There was a large TV mounted on the wall with free view and usual TV options. There was a lovely lounge and conservatory with log burner. They also had an honesty bar where you could take drink and charge them to your room. Alternatively they were happy for you to buy you own and drink them on site. The breakfasts were of extremely good quality and plenty of choice. As they were made to order they were also always hot. Plenty of tea , coffee and toast, One morning they also offered to fill our flask with coffee for our walk. The owners are husband and wife and the personal touches are what make this place. Its also fantastically located within minutes walk of numerous restaurants and Windermere lake. We stayed over New Year and its walking distance from a free fireworks display over the lake in Bowness. I would definitely recommend and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happytravellers8A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at The Westbourne for two nights and were delighted with our choice of hotel. The hotel is approximately 5 minutes walk from the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere, we were offered a wide choice of breakfast both mornings (the quality of which was very high), but above all else, we felt the service was superb. Friendly, enthusiastic, informative regarding the local area and always happy to help.

In addition to the above, I proposed to my girlfriend during our stay (she said yes) and the hosts very kindly took time to print a congratulatory note and display it in the dining room...a lovely touch to complete our fabulous stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BarnBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had the pleasure of spending a night at the Westbourne at the beginning of November and couldn't fault a thing.
Nestled in a spot on location with private parking less than 5 minutes walk from the centre of Bowness. Lovely reception and public lounge area, immaculate room (room 3 with the four poster was a pleasant surprise), every amenity including docking station for my iPod. Lovely breakfast and wonderful hospitality from Sue and Andre.
We also stopped in one of the 4* established hotels (not saying which one but I'm reviewing that too) and the Westbourne knocked the spots off it. We'll definately be back - if we can get booked in!

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for the four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daftlad1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbourne

Property: The Westbourne
Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westbourne Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Westbourne Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing