We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B!”
Review of The Westbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights recently, and it has to be one of the nicest/friendliest places we have ever stayed in! The hosts, Andre and Sue, were extremely welcoming and catered for all of our needs. Bedroom was very clean, bathroom was very small (will upgrade next time) but again very clean, breakfast was top notch! I can't find any faults with this accommodation, it was simply perfect! Great location for long walks too. Oh and not to mention the endless number of restaurants and bars within walking distance! We will be definitely staying again - Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaj975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Westbourne was the perfect place to stay.
It was not only great value, but had very friendly and attentive hosts and the breakfasts were lovely too. Great location, right in town.
I will come back to stay here without a doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

After staying in Keswick for 2 nights we moved on to Bowness to the Westbourne and wished we could have stayed longer. Andre and Sue were very warm and welcoming our room was lovely nicely furnished with a comfortable bed and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was very well cooked with a good choice and for us "perfect poached eggs " and plenty of tea and toast.

We also made use of the guest lounge with an honesty bar this was nice if you wanted to sit and read or play games from the selection provided. We had a lovely 2 nights stay and are looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank chestertravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Prefect place to stay ,can not fault this hotel in anyway ...... staff.....breakfast.....cleanliness .....location....perfect, can't wait to go back again,there's plenty of other hotels but to me this as got to be one of the best and is worthy of a score of 10/10......it's just a 5 min walk to the lake could waffle on and on but there's no need to ...book it yourself and find out you will not be disappointed in anyway .......

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monki007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Andre and Sue are very welcoming and friendly hosts. There is plenty of parking rights outside this lovely looking property. Town is only a 5 to 10 minute stroll away. Breakfast is very good. The rooms are clean and lack nothing. We only stayed here 1 night so I dont think we got the full experience; but other than the bedroom being seriously too warm our stay here was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GazBouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Excellent B and B in a great location. Couple of minutes walk into Bowness for all the shops and restuarants. Andre and Sue are excellent hosts and the breakfast was to a high standard. We had the compact double ensuite room, which was perfectly ok for how much time we were actually in the room but the bathroom was very small. Would probably upgrade if we were to stay again (which I definitely would!).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma322013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed her for a couple of nights. Perfect location and very hospitable hosts. The room was very reasonable in cost and really desirable when staying there. Everything is thought off. Even offering a honesty bar. Breakfast was excellent. Will return

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PrestonBenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
996 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbourne

Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £58 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westbourne Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Westbourne Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing