We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 4 night stay”
Review of The Westbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A friendly warm welcome on arrival. Our room was spacious and clean. We were given a full range of breakfast choice with friendly service. We were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble.
We would definately return again!
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjmcb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

My mum & I stayed at The Westbourne whilst on a walking and cycling trip to The Lake District. The owner's were wonderful, and couldn't have been more helpful, especially with giving us walking routes to try as well as telling us about local restaurants and offers that were on. Delicious cooked breakfast, which also came with fruit, cereal, tea, coffee etc. Gorgeous bedroom with really comfy bed, nice bathroom and a great view of Bowness. Would highly recommend in every way!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of Bowness, great to be able to suss out the weather for the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Westbourne in Bowness on Windemere. We have stayed in several places in this area but must say that this is the best so far ! The owners Andre and Sue could not be more helpful and friendly. We stayed in the Cottage, a self contained apartment right next to the B & B which had only recently been finished, how amazing was this place, well, decorated to an extremely high standard and everything had been thought of, right down to the underfloor heating in the sumptuous bathroom. An upstairs lounge room with TV sofa mini bar and tea coffee etc, everything has been thought of here. If you are looking for a getaway with a bit of class and privacy, this is for you, oh and by the way, the best breakfast ever as well !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the Westbourne for four nights just after Easter. We arrived early and were made welcome by Andre who immediately showed us to our room. This was our first visit to Andre gave us very useful information about places to visit and eat.
We booked through a booking agent rather than directly with the owners. This was a mistake. We wanted a large room with bath and shower, but the booking form only allowed for one or the other, so we ended up with a VERY small en-suite with just a shower. Our room (No 1) was opposite the fire door at the top of the stairs and looked directly into another two guest houses! There were modesty blinds though, but no real views.
Breakfast was the highlight. Plenty of self-service cereals, fruit and juices, with a waitress service for a well cooked and plentiful full English if desired.
Though up a steep hill, the Westbourne is only a short walk from the town with it's wide range of eateries and, of course, Lake Windermere. It is also only a short, but steep walk to a lovely viewing point over the Lake and the town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welltravelled064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just returned from two nights here for our Pearl Wedding.
We stayed in the cottage which Andre and Sue have just completed
The Cottage has been finished to a high standard, we really enjoyed our stay and certainly worthy of four stars if not more. We couldn't fault the accommodation.
Our hosts were very helpful and provided a first class breakfast
Will definitely stay here again,highly recommended.

R&D

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just spent two nights here and it was fine for what we wanted! It's very clean,the host and his wife are lovely and helped with organizing a taxi. We had 3 rooms, all had showers no baths,that's just our preference.the room was a little on the tight side with all windows being overlooked by other properties,there were blinds to pull down though!
One of our rooms was outside which was a bit of a shame as felt a little separate !
The bedding and beds were good,there were adequate products too.I guess we haven't stayed in a guest house for a while! Breakfast was ok,being woken up at 6.30 by walkers wasn't the best but guess most people who stay go for that and we were right near the stairs!
There was a pleasant seating area with wify ,also a small honesty bar.
Like I said it was good for what it was,especially if you were on a walking break!

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building and away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snootyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned after a lovely stay at The Westbourne. The owners Sue and Andre were friendly and welcoming.
The B&B is worthy of it's 4 star rating. Our room (no3) was very comfortable, with a four poster bed, chaise, ample wardrobe space and numerous electric points.The bedding was top quality and the bath towels lovely and big, Both bed room, and well equipped bathroom, were spotless, as were the public areas.
There was a good choice of food at breakfast including fresh fruit, cereal and full English and the service was quick.
The lounge was very comfortable with an honesty bar. Sue and Andre, even allow you to consume your own alcohol,
Well situated on edge of shopping area and less than 10 minutes walk to Lake Windermere and ferries.Up hill so probably not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. Ample parking.
Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,040 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,947 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,044 reviews
2.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbourne

Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £56 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westbourne Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Westbourne Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing