We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Excellent!”
Review of The Westbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just Excellent!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights at end of July passing through on our way up to Scotland. The setting is fantastic - just a short walk into the town.
Room had everything we needed and was clean and well presented. Bathroom looked recently refurbished so no complaints there either.
Breakfast was superb - we enjoyed a hearty full English on both mornings and nothing was too much trouble. We were offered more if we needed it but we didn't!!
Thank you so much to the hosts - we felt very well looked after.
Amy & Matt

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    64
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
307
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed here for three nights and will echo what the other recent reviews are saying. This is a very nice and comfortable B&B just up the road from Lake Windermere. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is flexible and of a good standard. Had one minor issue in that one of our blinds broke but this was repaired immediately. What else do you need? Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank City_Boy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A cosy bed and breakfast on Lake Windemere, perfect for a weekend getaway. After staying here once it was an easy decision on where to stay again on our return back through the area. The owners are friendly and welcoming and you can tell that they take great care and pride in their b&b. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: The room at the front of the building has a beautiful big window, a perfect spot to sit in the loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I booked this bed & breakfast as a surprise treat for my girlfriend. We were pleasantly surprised that we were to be staying in 'The Cottage'; accommodation away from the main building. The Cottage was lovely. The downstairs room which contained the bed was light and airy with a separate toilet, shower/bathroom with jacuzzi bath, and a cloak room. The upstairs lounge had a fridge/freezer, settee, tea/coffee making facilities and large HD tv.

My ulterior motive for this trip was to propose to my girlfriend, and in the lead up to our stay I contacted the owners as I wanted to put some champagne with glasses in the room as a treat when we returned from our evening out. The owners were very accommodating and discreet.

The breakfast was great.

We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just got home from an amazing weekend in the lakes staying at the Westbourne Hotel. The hotel is truly amazing and could not find any faults here at all. Sue & Andre are superb hosts, so friendly, knowledgable and totally make you feel welcome from the minute you check in to leaving. Our room (No 8) was situated just to the side of the main hotel which had its own little entrance lobby opening into a large tastefully decorated bedroom with large ensuite shower room, lovely fluffy white towels and luxury complementary toiletries. Nice comfy double bed , slept very well. Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room and was amazing with cereals, fruit, yogurts, juices and a choice of cooked breakfasts - nothing was too much for them.
The hotel itself was situated a short 5 minutes walk down hill into town and the lake, passing restaurants & shops all way into town, many lovely pubs & restaurants dotted all around the town. If we were to visit bowness again I would definitely stay at the Westbourne hotel no doubt about it and cannot reccomended it highly enough, you will not be disappointed with your stay here.
I don't usually do reviews of places but had to let people know about this lovely hotel.
Thanks Sue & Andre for welcoming us to Bowness and making our stay here special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milli9366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was beautiful, really cosy and welcoming. The owners were really nice people and friendly. Room was perfect and the honesty bar is a great touch. Only a short walk down the hill to the lake and bars and restaurants. Will definitely book again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, 4th visit here. Love the laid back nature and informal setting. Great location for exploring the lakes. The honesty fridge in the lounge is a great touch and the scrambled egg at breakfast are amazing. Will keep coming back to the friendly B&B

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SE7727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,880 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbourne

Property: The Westbourne
Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westbourne Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Westbourne Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing