We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, over-priced drinks...”
Review of Sutherlands Restaurant - CLOSED

Sutherlands Restaurant
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bilston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food, over-priced drinks...”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a meal on Sunday 24th August. The food was beautiful (goats cheese salad and braised steak and mash) and the waitressing staff are all very lovely. However, 1 pint of lager and a double Cointreau at £11.25 is disgusting!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katiew1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    169
    89
    51
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice food and good service ”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here on Saturday as a family group of 8..
All had different dishes and we all enjoyed them.. Service was polite and friendly. Would return if we were in the area.. Mountain goats cheese burger was very good!

Helpful?
Thank lougr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Plain pub food experience made superior by excellent service.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Granted, the decor is dated and the food of the pub grub variety but the service is excellent - the staff really do try to accommodate your requests going above and beyond the call of duty (for herbal tea for example). The portions are huge for the price charged and so it feels churlish not to give this place a gold star. If you're looking for a culinary experience rather than filling your boots after a long day walking - this won't be for you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darshan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Er...Average, Then?”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Not quite sure what to make of this place. Both the interior and the menu resemble those of a provincial pub with Egon Ronay ambitions 25 years ago. In my view the food was also consistent with that, ie poor to mediocre. However my wife thought it was excellent, singling out for praise a mushroom stroganoff which was one of the best she has ever had...and she knows her stroganoffs.

So, in deference to that and to the service, which we both agreed was very good, we'll say average. I somehow don't think I'll be rushing back though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mysel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“overpriced tourist tat, avoid.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stopped in here for a quick lunch time bite on a recent stay in Windermere

My partner & I both opted for a pate ploughmans, I was looking forward to a regular ploughmans with the addition of a little bit of pate on the side, which for £7 each wouldn't have been unreasonable.

What we ended up with was a plate of salad, a bit of none too fresh bread, pickle & pate. I've seen furballs better presented than the supposidly home made pate & shop bought stuff has more taste. The salad was clearly and after thought & I'm still trying to work out why you would serve branston pickle with pate.

Service was poor, the place was a bit foisty & diners were stacked on top of each other. All of which I can forgive but the food was absolutely shocking. Avoid.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sutherlands Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing