We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monties Bed and Breakfast
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

There was no personal attention given to the B&B customers.
We had booked two deluxe rooms, but got just 1 deluxe room and the other was a very very small one.
The location is good and the breakfast is excellent!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sonia131080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2015
Thank you for your review. We do not advertise deluxe rooms, as we do not provide this facility. Our double rooms are both large and small with en-suite facilities and the price reflects this, accommodation is offered as affordable, clean and comfortable. We are glad to read you enjoyed our breakfasts which have become quite a hit with our guests and customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    45
    27
    10
    16
See reviews for
18
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have given 2 stars due to the lack of service received. There was no personal service and all focus is on the Cafe rather than the B&B. We stayed 4 nights in July and our room was never cleaned and the towels were not changed. Toiletries were not replenished either and we ran out of toilet roll. The shower temperature was difficult to regulate and we had to have a sink bath one of the evenings as the water stayed icy cold for over 10 minutes.

The location of the B&B is excellent, very central and you can walk around easily. No car park on site so we parked about 3 minutes walk from the B&B (Rayrigg road car park) - this was convenient for us, although parking spaces filled up quickly during the day (took us 30 mins to get a space).

Breakfast was only between 9am and 10am, which we found odd. The quality of food was OK. We had toast, beans, scrambled eggs (a little dry), cereal and tea cakes. There were 3 jugs of drinks on the counter (cranberry, orange and milk). Tea and coffee provided on request. Really enjoyed the muesli but my teacake came burnt to a crisp (very black indeed). The waitress didn't ask if I wanted a new one when I complained. On the last day we noted that the breakfast things at the counter was cleared away at 9.40am, whilst B&B guests were still eating and drinking. Like I said, all focus is on the cafe. Having said that the cafe was very new and clean.

The room was a good size, with a tiny TV, chairs and wardrobe. Carpet was stained and bed was not very comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The noise from the road made it difficult to sleep at night (single glazed glass). We would have liked a fridge in the room as we have seen this in other B&Bs. We had free wifi, which we appreciated (although it was not written down which wifi service link to select).

No information for tourists at the B&B and cafe staff are not local so cannot help - best to walk to the tourist office 5 mins walk along the waterfront. This B&B has potential and would benefit from having a manager to assist guests. We emailed the management with issues and have still not received a reply.

The location of Bowness is lovely! Beatrix Potter World is just a minute's walk away. You can get around by bus easily to see other towns. There are lots of boat trips too. Go to the tourist office on arrival to plan your days. And bring a raincoat with you! The weather is so unpredictable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road. Or take earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Veronika78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We were very disappointed to read this review and grow incresingly frustrated that guests wait until after they have departed to use these forums to list any problems rather than allowing us the opportunity to attend to them while staying with us.
We have not recieved any email from this guest, which explains why they have had no response. There are two Tourist Information stands in the entrance hall and another on the first landing displaying leaflets on what to see and do in the area as well as "Welcome to Lakeland" books which are left in each bedroom, along with a card displaying wi-fi information.
Breakfast is served everyday in the cafe from 8.30am to 10am. We clearly state on all correspondence that parking is limited due to central location, it would appear the guest never found this at the rear of the premises. As we are a small B&B we do not provide the facilities of hotels (fridges, 24hr reception).
We can only apologise that the guest was not offered a replacement teacake and hope this customer feels we have addressed their comments but would be happy to respond to their email should they still wish to send it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

On the main Road in Bowness Village, perfect location right in the middle of all the shops and restaraunts and just a 5
2 minute stroll to the lake. Only downside to this being the road noise on a night, but we thought that the price was right for the accomodation. Rooms need some updating but they were lovely and clean.
The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good (if a little on the small side!)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank GeorgieGirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Many thanks for your kind review and yes we pride ourselves on offering clean and affordable accommodation. We started our refurbishment of rooms earlier in 2014 and will be continuing through the winter when the rooms are not so heavily reserved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We actually never got to stay here as my husband had broken his leg and was in hospital. When we tried to change the name on the booking so someone else could go in our place we got no response. I then got an almost abusive message from them when I gave them the opportunity to explain why they had not responded. Very disappointing in the way things were handled would not recommend this place at all

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
This is the last correspondence we had with this customer - informative and certainly not abusive!
As per our email of 30th July, we clearly laid out where your stood with regard to your reservation with us, as per terms & conditions.
As your reservation was made through Booking.com and not ourselves, any cancellation or modification of booking needed to go through them.
Our apologies that you are disappointed. Our understanding of Trip Advisor is that in order to write a review, you must have stayed at the accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Staed here for a night. The girl who checked us in was very nice but she seemed quite busy as she was also serving the restaurant of the b&b. Room was quite hot and couldn't open the windows and no fans. Bfast was fine, nothing special. Was served by the same girl who checked us in and eventually checked as out. I asked about getting a taxi and she just showed me the variety of calling cards on the entrance table. No personal service but can't fault her as she was really busy. It lacked the personal touch of a b&b. but location is fab.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gvalcantara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review following your one night stay.
All our staff are employed as general assistants so that the have a full working knowledge of all aspects of our Guesthouse and Cafe and can assist any guest queries.
We are sorry you had difficulties with the windows in your room and had you asked for assistance, a member of staff could had rectified this. There are taxi cards on display in the entrance hall for our guests and as there is also a payphone there for guests use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copacabana, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My Wife and I stayed one night, the bed was clean and comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities are provided, there was a new wardrobe in the room, but no hangers, the carpet was badly stained, there was no hot water in the shower room. WiFi is advertised, and although we could log in, the signal was so weak it immediately dropped out.
There is limited on site parking advertised, but this consists of being prepared to park in the rear access lane, and risk being damaged by other vehicles, we used the rather expensive local car park a short walk away.
The breakfast was excellent.
Had we been staying more than one night we might have made an issue of the problems, but as it was, we brought them to the attention of the Management as we were leaving.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PhilBello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review and for making us aware of the problems you experienced prior to departure, all of which could have been dealt with at the time had we been made aware then. We clearly state on all our correspondence regarding the parking restrictions due to our central location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Montis two nights. The room was very nicely decorated, big bed with fresh and clean bedlinen. That is the best decoration that I have never seen in any hotel/b&b. Beautiful furniture, very rustic but in good confition. But I think there are a few things that must be considered:

Very nice touch the coffee and tea facilities but there was no plug for the kettle, we had to plug it and leave it on the floor.

Cleanliness could be better, a lot of stains on the carpet, dusty shelves.

Bathroom was very small, the shower was claustrofobic. And it was not clean!!!!!!!! It was not clean the two days we were there!!.

I undestand that due to location it can be very noise, double glazed windows could help the guests to have a better stay, in the same way thicker courtains could stop the sun light to wake up the guest s.

Breakfast was very nice but one hour is not enough. Please allow maybe an extra hour. And why did my husband get two slices of white bread and I got only one of brown??.

For the money we paid I have been in 3 stars hotels with better facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Martinyespe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review and for your kind comments regarding Monties. We apologise if you found any aspect of our cleaning standards amiss and had you made us aware at the time, would have been more than happy to rectify this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Stags Head
Stags Head
#12 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#4 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#16 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monties Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monties Bed and Breakfast

Property: Monties Bed and Breakfast
Address: Crag Brow, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monties Bed and Breakfast is situated in the heart of Bowness village and is less than a five minute walk from Lake Windermere and Bowness Bay with its host of water activities. Bowness is a bustling village and has a real holiday feel in the evenings; there is a wide range of places to eat from fine restaurants, gastro pubs, various international restaurants as well as the more traditional pubs serving local ales - you really will be spoilt for choice. At Monties we offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation for couples and families, together with a fantastic breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Monties Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monties Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Monties b&b
Monties Bed And Breakfast Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing