We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal”
Review of Postilion Restaurant - CLOSED

Postilion Restaurant
Price range: US$9 - US$34
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The three course set menu meal priced at £17.95 before 7pm is excellent value for money. Starters of butternut soup and Greek parcels. OH said the soup was very tasty , the filo pastry the greek parcels were in was sooo light and flaky....divine. Main courses..OH had cod steak in paper which he raved about. I had beef bourguignon, wonderful tender meat cooked to perfection. Desserts were...OH Sticky toffee pudding and I shared my vanilla icecream with him. Both were terrific. Total bill including a bottle of wine and tip £60. We will certainly return the next time we are on holiday in Bowness. Be sure to book this restaurant especially at the weekend, it can get very busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    195
    65
    29
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely food, excellent service”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A group of 12 of us ate here last Saturday night, and I have to say the service we received was exceptional. Orders were taken promptly, the food arrived quickly, glasses were replenished with no fuss. We all ordered off the £17.95 menu, and were very impressed by the quality of the food we received. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HotelLover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Postilion Restaurant and Toffee Loft”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Recently we had a wonderful 3 night stay in The Toffee Loft which is a little haven next door to the marvellous Postilion Restaurant which we also dined in on our stay in Bowness in June 2014.Lovely decor, peaceful and relaxing stay at our leisure, use of nearby spa and on the doorstep to the lovely local shops and boutiques.The restaurant itself was very welcoming and tastefully decorated the food was delicious and my husband had the Fillet steak which was cooked to his taste.Cannot fault the surroundings, staff or food.Would definately recommend and will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Give it a try.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We ate here on a Tuesday night. They were extremely busy (which is often a good sign) but they managed to seat the four of us outside. The staff were indeed busy and they kept apologising for being slow to attend to us but honestly, they were still better than most restaurants so no complaints from me. The staff are very polite.

The food was excellent. Really tasty and perfect sized portions. The side plate of vegetables were fantastic and really went well with the mains. Dessert was delicious. I had chocolate brownie and I heartily recommend it. It was superb.

Will definitely return. Thanks.

Helpful?
Thank NineEighteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Dined here last night absolutely beautiful food. 3 course a la carte. Excellent taste 1 of nicest meals ever eaten. Friendly staff brilliant little place a must visit.

Helpful?
Thank Neenoid33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Postilion Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing