We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Balance Of Bowness

Balance Of Bowness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$49
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Balance restaurant in Bowness brings together the best of traditional dining with fresh ideas and a smart interior. The tables are beautifully set with linen and candles, the music is soft and ambient, and the atmosphere is calm and relaxed. All of this sets the stage for the food, which celebrates the best Lake District ingredients alongside hand-picked flavours from around the globe.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Most of the restaurant were full, we walked pass Fat Olives and decided to give it a try. Lucky to get a table in 5 mins. Didn't expect the food to be sooooo delicious!!! see the attached photos

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ylau01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrill29, Owner at Balance Of Bowness, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments, perhaps you will come to us first next time! Always nice to get customers pictures on the site, thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 638 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Four of us had a meal at Fat Olives brasserie during a recent visit to Windermere and really enjoyed it. We all had something different and all remarked how good our dishes were. Our table allowed us to see into the small kitchen where three guys were producing a continual stream of excellently presented food in what appeared to be a very relaxed kitchen. The various young staff that attended to our table were also excellent, friendly, helpful and pleasant. All in all a lovely restaurant experience which I could heartily recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doddpathhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrill29, Owner at Balance Of Bowness, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, we are very proud of our team - its nice to be appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My new husband and I are on honeymoon in windermere and luckily found the fat olive for lunch on our first day. What a lovely restaurant! Clean, tidy, well spaced, delightful staff and fantastic food!

The prices are very reasonable, the portion sizes are spot on and so tasty. We were very surprised at the amount of dip and bread we got for just £1!

I had ribs, very meaty and no fat, lovely sauce and delicious side salad. My husband had spaghetti and meat balls, neither of us left any food :)

The girl who served us was new, but anything we asked that she didn't know she found out for us, very good service and we will definitely be going back before our honeymoon is over.

Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrill29, Owner at Balance Of Bowness, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thankyou very much for your kind comments, glad you liked your lunch at Fat Olives. I'm afraid you should have been charged separately for your bread so you really did get a bargain!
Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Fat Olives is a great little Bistro on the main road through Bowness. Staff were attentive without being obtrusive. Atmosphere was pleasant and the food was Ace especially the pate. House red wine is excellent. Well worth a visit and I will be back when we return in August.
Well done Olive, don't lose any weight!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SilvioDante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrill29, Owner at Balance Of Bowness, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I decided to dine at the restaurant based on the menu posted outside. In the end we chose a shared tapas at £23 which included a carafe of wine. We had a great meal and the service and explanation from the waitress was very thorough. A pleasant atmosphere. Would recommend for anyone who enjoys tapas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stylezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrill29, Owner at Balance Of Bowness, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your meal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balance Of Bowness also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Balance Of Bowness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing