We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class Italian restaurant in Lake district”
Review of Amore - CLOSED

Amore
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Bangor, Co Down
Level Contributor
182 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Class Italian restaurant in Lake district”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Found this restaurant by accident when visiting Bowness-on-Windermere for the day. The restaurant had that exterior appearance that immediately attracted one's attention. Spotlessly clean windows, flowering hanging baskets and outside tables immacuately set.
Inside the restaurant has a tradional Italian "feel". The menu choice is quite good although with limited choice compared to some Italian restaurants we have experienced. Prices are reasonable and our eating experience in this restaurant can be described as good value and enjoyable.
We recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    66
    35
    29
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Slow Service.....Still Waiting!!!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Decided to treat the kids to a last night out on holiday and picked here as it looked good. Oh how I wish I had checked Tripadvisor before going out. Booked a table for 8pm and it was 8.55 when we got our starters. At 9.30 we asked about main course as the kids were getting grumpy and were told it would be a few minutes. At 9.50 the mains appeared and although the food was good, the distinct lack of push from the kitchen ruined the night. If your going out for dinner to this place, take a good book and a picnic as you'll wait forever to get your food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UncleBuck_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We enjoyed our meal here. The soup of the day (crème broccoli) was lovely. Were glad we shared a pizza as one each would have been too much and it left room for me to have a delicious dessert. Staff friendly and helpful, atmosphere good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Petalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saffron walden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rastelli's was our choice for evening...but was closed”
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

We got to Rastelli's after seeing good reviews on T.A but was shut on Tuesday's :( oh dear was teaming down with rain so ended up going to Amores over the road as hungry & wet.
Wish we'd carried on down the road & found alternative. A tired Italian with average/below average food. My sons carbonara very oily, my husband & i had pizzas which were average. All were edible & after a 6 mile walk today we were starving. Their card machine wasn't working so I had to venture down to cash point so I could pay ( in rain)
House white wine not great either. Having said that staff were friendly. But won't be going back.

Helpful?
Thank billybobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“worst meal we have ever had”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The vegetables did not turn up with my main course and the dessert was so late that we had already decided to leave. Avoid at all costs.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amore also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing