We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Court House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Just home after a mid week stay. Cant fault anything. Clean and comfy. Most welcoming. Breakfast was really nice Definitely stay again perfect base for exploring by boat and bus we left car and could properly let our hair down and not worry if we wanted a glass of wine.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just returned home after a few days away at this great little B&B. Clean cosy and very welcoming. Fabulous cooked breakfasts and nothing was too much bother for Sue and the staff.
Would recommend to anyone. In a great location for all the local shops etc. Would ring Sue first if we ever visit the Lakes again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmin2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had the best of luck in getting two nights booked during peak season at the Courthouse and it was the best thing we could have done. The rooms was lovely, the hotel is perfect for accessing local restaurants and pubs, it was quiet and peaceful and we did not hear any other guests (we had a ground floor room next to the dining area). The two ladies were fabulous and couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating.
A fantastic piece of local history and a brilliant place to stay !
Thanks for making our holiday that much more special !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Comfortable, cosy and clean well equipped room with large choice of tasty food for breakfast! Nothing was too much trouble for our host Sue and we were made very welcome.

The B and B residence is well situated for all amenities, lake, shops, restaurants and buses/taxis. No parking problems. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms appear good, but there's a choice for double or twin on the ground floor which is usef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

stayed at the old courthouse for a 3 day break in june, had a lovely stay the bed was very comfy as I slept well ,then to get up to a lovely English breakfast which I may say was lovely and hot ! and the choice of fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereal and toast all on offer with tea or fresh coffee, we were welcomed by the host sue and straight away felt very welcome, the room was quite small but suited us quite well but bigger rooms are available, ideally situated for all the shops and not such a long walk down to the lake, we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We turned up in Bowness having looked up a few hotels and B and B's online, but when we drove around we did not fancy the look of them - plus they had no parking available and the car parks charge overnight. Then we came across The Old COurt House - what a great find! There was parking off road and a great welcome. It is a really pretty little place and our room although small was gorgeous - a comfy bed, free wifi, a lovely modern bathroom in one of the old cells! Important little touches like good bedside lights, box of tissues, plenty of milks for the tea/coffee - plus the advantage of a really really good breakfast - plenty of choice and a wonderful fresh fruit salad selection that would put most hotels - including very flash ones - to shame. Everything freshly cooked and very attentive service. If I had to make any complaint it would be that the towels could be better quality and larger. But that really is the only thing that I could possibly find to mention - I would definitely stay here again. I was also offered a ground floor room option as soon as they saw my stick.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salthewelsjhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Stayed at The old Court House for 3 nights in March,a real nice and friendly B+B the weather was freezing but the guest house was always lovely and warm.Alison was the host and a very good one at that and the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice from fresh fruit to cereal to full cooked breakfast etc,and nothing was too much trouble for Alison.
The room had coffee and tea making facilities,colour TV,alarm clock,hair dryer and an ironing board was available on request what more do you need?
When we return to the lakes i would definitely go back in the old court house as the location was excellent just 2 mins from the lake and all the cafes ,restaurants and pubs outside the door.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,077 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court House

Address: The Old Court House Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £63 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Court House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Court House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Court House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing