We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Court House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here for two nyts with some friends. the rooms where lovely and spacious,clean and all the little details made a difference. the landlady sue was lovely and welcoming and she did a wonderful breakfast (even cold beans when asked) the position of the b&b is ideal for the shops and lake. Would highly recommend staying here and will be booking again when up that way.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here in December and had a lovely weekend. The room was spotless and clean and the lady that ran the place was lovely and helpful in recommending were to eat ect. We was made a delicious breakfast the next day. Would highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Old Courthouse is a fantastic place to stay in Bowness. Guests are made to feel very welcome. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is great. The location of the B&B is ideal, with plenty of restaurants a very short stroll away and the lake just down the hill. Unlike many B&Bs in Bowness, the Old Courthouse has a small car park. The next time I'm in Bowness this place will be top of my list.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank oldhamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

we stayed here 30/11/13 -02/12/13. it was a short weekend break to celebrate my birthday. the room was spotlessly clean and spacious with a lovely comfortable bed. we have stayed in the lakes before,and found some rooms to be on the small side, but not here, the breakfast were very good, sue the host was very friendly& informative,there was plenty of eating places nearby. we ,will most certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddiewhite2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Place is clean!cosy bedroom and warm nice comfy beds breakfast good lady nice that runs it good position for shops and restaurants quiet at night wen in bed so all in all it was good ! Oh would book there again

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Room was first floor and was very spacious. It was immaculate and clean. It had a really nice homely feeling and was great to return to after a long walk (in the rain!).

Bed was big and comfy.

The location was quiet and very useful to access Lake Windermere. A very short walk to the lake front and a few steps away from restaurants/shops.

Helpful and good host!

Breakfast was very nice (particularly the scrambled eggs!)

The car park was tight but useful to have free off road (enclosed) parking for the length of the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10ali01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Upon arrival we were greated by Sue, was very welcoming and friendly. She showed us to our room and gave us tne usual tour and information.

The rooms have character and were adequately furnished and very clean. The wardrobe actually had enough hangers too! The bathroom was equipped with a great shower, heated towel rail and plenty of clean towels. The bed was very comfortable although it did creak a little! Our room had two windows, one of which was double glazed and I was concerned that it would be noisy or cold, I need not have worried - the heating was great and nights were very quiet and peaceful. There is also a drying room for walkers to dry coats, boots etc.


Breakfast was fantastic (full english) with a help yourself buffet of cerials, yogurt etc. Staff were also very accommodating with breakfast, taking orders for things like sausage sandwhiches which were not on the breakfast menu. Coffee was served in an individual cafetiere.

The location is great, although it is very close to a Jewson builders yard. Thiz does not cause any problems even with noise so don't let that put you off. The hotel is just a short 5 mins walk from the lake and is centralto most shops, restaurants and bars. The Italian restaurant, 'Ristoranti' does fantastic food and I would recommend it - book your table, though, it gets very busy.

The only downside is that car parking can be a little difficult. The hotel has its own car park but it is very small and not easy to get into, or out of some of the spaces. Parking on the quiet side road outside the hotel is okay but be aware that there are restrictions 9am to 6pm.

all in all though, a great place to stay and one which represents great value for money. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oracle_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#12 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,087 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court House

Address: The Old Court House Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £63 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Court House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Court House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Court House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing