We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A birthday treat !”
Review of Jackson's Bistro

Jackson's Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A birthday treat !”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Returning to this restaurant after a couple of years to find the previous high standard was being well maintained. Attentive service, excellent meals from a wide choice of menu (the confit duck was delicious !) and great value from the three course special, all ensured a memorable birthday treat ! We'll be back !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eborguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    923
    284
    89
    55
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal but tad expensive”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our first time here having been recommended by friends and checking out the TripAdvisor reviews.

We both had fish from the specials board, whole lemon sole topped with prawns in garlic. £16.95
The fish came with a small bowl of vegetables and mash potatoes. The meal was very nice and well cooked but ultimately over priced for what it is.

The restaurant was very busy and they were turning away custom so obviously popular. The majority of people go for the set menu which is better value as you get 2 or 3 dishes for an inclusive price. When we return we will most probably go for this option as looking at the dishes, there was not a lot of difference in quality or quantity between these and the A La Carte meals

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colinsto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Sunday brunch! ”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We frequent the Sunday brunch at Jackson's probably once a month- especially with company in town. Very reasonably priced with a multitude of choices for everyone. It is replenished consistently and affords lovely views if the bay. Ask for an outside table to take full advantage of the blue water below!

Helpful?
Thank TPAMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

my wife and I went early doors 6.00pm. both tried same main meal monkfish and king prawn skewers with wild rice, it was lovely.
green lipped mussels to start they were excellent very tasty.
nice cold bottle of sauvignon blanc New Zealand.
ambience was nice service excellent. good value formoney too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LOVESLIFETOTHEFULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I went here last night and it was amazing. We didn't book but managed to be seated at just after 7pm on a Saturday. It did get v busy whilst we were there but the staff were attentive and the food was lovely. We could have chosen a 3 course meal from a set menu or the a la carte menu. We went with the a la carte. I had the warm duck salad which was lovely. Only criticism is the mustard dressing on the salad did not go well with the hoisin sauce but was fab nonetheless. My husband had the chicken livers to start which he said were lovely. He then had the rump steak which was cooked the way he asked for it and I had the lamb Henry. The lamb wasn't the best but lamb can be fatty so that was not the restaurants fault in my view. The dessert was an asiette of pudding which was a an Eton mess, sticky toffee pudding, caramel cheesecake and creme brûlée. We shared the dessert which again was amazing. Would highly recommend. Had a lovely time and would go back next time we return to the area

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StuandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jackson's Bistro also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jackson's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing