We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, would be perfect except for a few minor details!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windermere Marina Village
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Wonderful, would be perfect except for a few minor details!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just spent four nights at the Marina village whilst visiting the Lake District. My husband had stayed there twenty years ago when he was a child and had fond memories so we decided it would be a good place to stay.
We stayed in a new one bedroom apartment and it was really superb. The apartment was furnished to a really high standard and was absolutely spotless. Lots of cutlery, plates, glasses and kitchen equipment, massive dining area and lounge, huge bedroom and bathroom. I couldn't fault it at all. The only reason I didn't give the marina village 5 stars was because of a few minor things, namely I think it would have been a nice touch if you receive a welcome pack when you arrive (a pint of milk, tea, coffee and condiments), there was also no clothes airer so had to dry all washing on the radiators, the wifi was non-existent and because we had bad signal the whole time we were in the lakes it would have been useful to have had decent wifi in the apartment. A little shop in the village would have also been handy, just to sell those little things you need urgently (milk/toilet roll etc). All of these things are not much to ask when you could stay at the McDonald hotel up the road for £100 more over the 5 nights.
Other than that the marina village was really a wonderful place to stay, very luxurious, an absolutely beautiful location, a 5min walk from bowness. Would recommend it and definitely come back!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    57
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
143
79
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed in Rydal Cottage in mid-April. Furnishings good and pleasant decor but spoiled by the vile stench from the kitchen sink. Must have been a serious problem with the drains, the smell spread throughout the entire living area at times. The smell was also present in the bathrooms at times. Wi-fi also not working which isn't really acceptable these days. Was reported to reception but not fixed by the weekend as was promised. On the plus side, the location just outside of Bowness is good, just a 10-15 minute walk to the lake, shops etc. Good service and food in The Boathouse too.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LinMcK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereMarina, Public Relations Manager at Windermere Marina Village, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday at Windermere Marina Village. Please accept my apologies for the lack of WiFi during your stay; this has now been fixed. Your comments regarding the drains have been passed to the maintenance team for their attention. I do hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in Bowness Cottage 1 at the beginning of April and had a superb time. We booked a pet friendly cottage in order to take our hairless chinese crested puppy with us. Being allergic to pets it was risky booking a pet cottage however I had no problems, the cottage clearly asks guest to keep their pets out of the bedrooms and off the furniture, the rest of the cottage was spotlessly clean and there was no smell or evidence of there having been pets in the cottage.

The cottage was spacious with ample room, four of our friends stayed with us one night and there was more than enough room for 6 adults.

The kitchen was modern and very well equipped with top of the range appliances, there was all the cooking utensils you could require and plenty of crockery and cutlery etc. You could quite easily have made and seated a cooked dinner for 6.

There was a lovely balcony although sadly the weather didn't allow us to make use of it!

The beds were comfortable and bathrooms modern ams included all the towels/linen you require. The cottage has electric/storage heating and was lovely and warm. We only used the shower in the en-suite and that worked well, I didn't ask our friends what the main bathrooms was like but sure they would have said if there was any problems.

The MV itself was very well maintained and spotlessly clean. So relaxing and quiet.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful at check in and with queries. From the minute we booked online the service was excellent we received useful confirmation emails and information from them before we arrived.

On the marina is the Boathouse bar/restaurant, pets are allowed in the downstairs bar which was great and the prices were normal not over priced. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was superb couldn't fault it. The staff were very friendly and attentive. There's a lovely terrace overlooking the marina which would be beautiful in the summer.

As a WMV guest you get use of the spa facility's at the old swan hotel, we didn't use them but it is only about a 15 min walk away as is the centre of Bowness making the MV a perfect location for exploring the area.

We had one designated parking space outside our cottage and our friends had no trouble parking their two cars very close to the cottage.

The MV is lovely for a morning walk with your dog before heading off exploiring the lakes, and the boathouse is open most of the day for coffee, lunch etc if required however we chose to have breakfast etc in the cottage.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to the lakes and are already looking at returning next year with family.

We don't have any children but both agreed the cottage would be perfect for a family having everything you would need.

The Lake District is so geared up for dog owners, we had no trouble taking him with us, he was allowed in most of the shops, cafés, pubs and restaurants.

Would also highly recommend the Angel Inn in Bowness for dinner, lovely pub/restaurant only about 15 mins walk away.

Thanks for a great break.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelnpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 4 nights at WMV as part of our honeymoon....with our oh so precious Cocker Spaniel !
Troutbeck cottage (#18) was a perfect base for us to explore Bowness and the surrounding area. The cottage was kitted out with everything we needed and decorated and furnished in a very pleasant style. Everything was very clean and in great condition. WMV provides a great slightly out of town base, although Bowness is literally 10 minute walk away, and we opted for the walk rather than paying ridiculous parking fees in the town !
The on site bar and restaurant was also great. Fantastic food and friendly staff.
The only negative I could find was the lack of wifi (router apparently broken) -other than that, highly recommended. I'm sure we will be back !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bbmNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend at the beginning of March with our dog. This was our second visit.

The location is great and the cottage had a lovely view of the marina. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming. The cottage had everything we needed and was nicely decorated and furnished. The only negative was the wifi which was very patchy and we had a bit of difficulty finding a signal and connecting.

We would stay here again and look forward to our next visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hounddog1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ne lincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We really enjoyed Grange Cottage for 5. We thought it was well equipped, clean and well laid out. Bowness is just a 10 - 15 minute walk which is pleasant both by the lake and also fine by the main road. We enjoyed the walk to the Spa and then later food at the Angel Inn. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pommee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Marina Village with friends and had a fabulous time! The cottage, stayed at Rydal 25, was very comfortable and had ample space for six. The beds were comfortable and the house was very clean. It was complete with cutleries, cooking utensils, even a hair dryer was available! The views from the balcony was beautiful and it was awesome to watch the sunrise and sunset.
The only thing was the staff at reception was not all that welcoming and helpful. Being new in the area, we would have wanted to be given tips on where to go, good restaurants and good souvenir shops. The staff however mentioned that they did not live in the area so they really don't know. After that we did not bother to go to reception anymore.
We had a great holiday though, and I would surely recommend the Marina Village to friends.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank cesd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereMarina, Public Relations Manager at Windermere Marina Village, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review Windermere Marina Village. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sorry that you did not find the team welcoming, this is not the standard we expect. I have passed your comments on to the Reservation Manager for her to take the appropriate action.
I hope you will stay with us again and give the team an opportunity to redeem themselves.
Warm regards
Tracii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Marina Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Marina Village

Property: Windermere Marina Village
Address: The Marina, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering lakeland cottages and luxury apartments nestled around a private marina in the heart of the Lake District.Windermere Marina Village enjoys a secluded location yet is only a few minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windermere Marina Village Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Windermere Marina Village Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing