We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windermere Marina Village
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
357
76
17
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
357
76
17
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesboathouse restaurantlovely balconyfantastic apartmentwashing up liquidself catering accommodationold englandbed apartmentbuilding workwatch the boatsfantastic holidayliving areaeverything you could possibly needcar ferrya real home from homeperfect basetravel cot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just spent four nights at the Marina village whilst visiting the Lake District. My husband had stayed there twenty years ago when he was a child and had fond memories so we decided it would be a good place to stay.
We stayed in a new one bedroom apartment and it was really superb. The apartment was furnished to a really high standard and was absolutely spotless. Lots of cutlery, plates, glasses and kitchen equipment, massive dining area and lounge, huge bedroom and bathroom. I couldn't fault it at all. The only reason I didn't give the marina village 5 stars was because of a few minor things, namely I think it would have been a nice touch if you receive a welcome pack when you arrive (a pint of milk, tea, coffee and condiments), there was also no clothes airer so had to dry all washing on the radiators, the wifi was non-existent and because we had bad signal the whole time we were in the lakes it would have been useful to have had decent wifi in the apartment. A little shop in the village would have also been handy, just to sell those little things you need urgently (milk/toilet roll etc). All of these things are not much to ask when you could stay at the McDonald hotel up the road for £100 more over the 5 nights.
Other than that the marina village was really a wonderful place to stay, very luxurious, an absolutely beautiful location, a 5min walk from bowness. Would recommend it and definitely come back!!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Cfh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed in Rydal Cottage in mid-April. Furnishings good and pleasant decor but spoiled by the vile stench from the kitchen sink. Must have been a serious problem with the drains, the smell spread throughout the entire living area at times. The smell was also present in the bathrooms at times. Wi-fi also not working which isn't really acceptable these days. Was reported to reception but not fixed by the weekend as was promised. On the plus side, the location just outside of Bowness is good, just a 10-15 minute walk to the lake, shops etc. Good service and food in The Boathouse too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank LinMcK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereMarina, Public Relations Manager at Windermere Marina Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday at Windermere Marina Village. Please accept my apologies for the lack of WiFi during your stay; this has now been fixed. Your comments regarding the drains have been passed to the maintenance team for their attention. I do hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in Bowness Cottage 1 at the beginning of April and had a superb time. We booked a pet friendly cottage in order to take our hairless chinese crested puppy with us. Being allergic to pets it was risky booking a pet cottage however I had no problems, the cottage clearly asks guest to keep their pets out of the bedrooms and off the furniture, the rest of the cottage was spotlessly clean and there was no smell or evidence of there having been pets in the cottage.

The cottage was spacious with ample room, four of our friends stayed with us one night and there was more than enough room for 6 adults.

The kitchen was modern and very well equipped with top of the range appliances, there was all the cooking utensils you could require and plenty of crockery and cutlery etc. You could quite easily have made and seated a cooked dinner for 6.

There was a lovely balcony although sadly the weather didn't allow us to make use of it!

The beds were comfortable and bathrooms modern ams included all the towels/linen you require. The cottage has electric/storage heating and was lovely and warm. We only used the shower in the en-suite and that worked well, I didn't ask our friends what the main bathrooms was like but sure they would have said if there was any problems.

The MV itself was very well maintained and spotlessly clean. So relaxing and quiet.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful at check in and with queries. From the minute we booked online the service was excellent we received useful confirmation emails and information from them before we arrived.

On the marina is the Boathouse bar/restaurant, pets are allowed in the downstairs bar which was great and the prices were normal not over priced. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was superb couldn't fault it. The staff were very friendly and attentive. There's a lovely terrace overlooking the marina which would be beautiful in the summer.

As a WMV guest you get use of the spa facility's at the old swan hotel, we didn't use them but it is only about a 15 min walk away as is the centre of Bowness making the MV a perfect location for exploring the area.

We had one designated parking space outside our cottage and our friends had no trouble parking their two cars very close to the cottage.

The MV is lovely for a morning walk with your dog before heading off exploiring the lakes, and the boathouse is open most of the day for coffee, lunch etc if required however we chose to have breakfast etc in the cottage.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to the lakes and are already looking at returning next year with family.

We don't have any children but both agreed the cottage would be perfect for a family having everything you would need.

The Lake District is so geared up for dog owners, we had no trouble taking him with us, he was allowed in most of the shops, cafés, pubs and restaurants.

Would also highly recommend the Angel Inn in Bowness for dinner, lovely pub/restaurant only about 15 mins walk away.

Thanks for a great break.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelnpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 4 nights at WMV as part of our honeymoon....with our oh so precious Cocker Spaniel !
Troutbeck cottage (#18) was a perfect base for us to explore Bowness and the surrounding area. The cottage was kitted out with everything we needed and decorated and furnished in a very pleasant style. Everything was very clean and in great condition. WMV provides a great slightly out of town base, although Bowness is literally 10 minute walk away, and we opted for the walk rather than paying ridiculous parking fees in the town !
The on site bar and restaurant was also great. Fantastic food and friendly staff.
The only negative I could find was the lack of wifi (router apparently broken) -other than that, highly recommended. I'm sure we will be back !

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bbmNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend at the beginning of March with our dog. This was our second visit.

The location is great and the cottage had a lovely view of the marina. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming. The cottage had everything we needed and was nicely decorated and furnished. The only negative was the wifi which was very patchy and we had a bit of difficulty finding a signal and connecting.

We would stay here again and look forward to our next visit.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hounddog1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews