We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Birthday Treat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windermere Marina Village
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Weekend Birthday Treat”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

No hesitation in recommending this venue. We stayed in a three bed-roomed Windermere apartment number 41. It was spotlessly clean and high spec. It had everything we needed. Service at reception was friendly and helpful. I really can't pick out any negatives. BIG comfortable beds. The Marina is just far enough away from Bowness to get away from the crowd but an easy walk to use the facilities at the MacDonald old England hotel. You may find cheaper but you get what you pay for and this was good 4star. We had no noise issues even though there was a group of "ladies" staying nearby. They did the right thing and turned the noise down at the right time. Give it a go !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youwannabeinmyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    58
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
144
82
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southend
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had one of the Hawkshead cottages and the website just doesn't do them justice. Very modern inside with bedrooms (and bathrooms) downstairs and the spacious open plan lounge, kitchen and dining area with small balcony was upstairs. Ours was 2 bedroom and plenty big enough for a family of 4.

We had one minor issue which was dealt with very quickly and very efficiently. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham29a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

6 of us spent a week here. 4 adults and 2 kids.

Great location. Very peaceful. But just a short walk to town.

Very homely. Clean, with good quality fittings - and I'm fussy. Subtle things like sharp knives, good showers, Neff kitchen stuff...all make it feel good value.

We barely needed to see the staff at reception but every small niggle was dealt with promptly and without grumbles - even a wasp nest on a Friday evening. The wasp guy even stopped by the next day for a quick check.

Highly recommended. I'll go back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FangPiWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
278 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had been staying apartments as much as possible and this was probably one of the poorest. Our room only a couple from the reception building was very nice upstairs with well equipped kitchen etc as many others offer, but the bedrooms on ground floor were very very basic and confined. We booked so that 6 could stay as I thought we may have relatives also visit but I was glad they couldn't make it. It turned out the other double bed was in a wardrobe in the lounge and would swing down if needed. When we were paying huge price we expected better.
I found it odd that in UK now places will not book you in for the days you want and as we wanted to stayed 4 nights starting Sunday this was the only room they had available booking 8 months in advance. Do they not want overseas tourist money anymore?

Room Tip: I don't know what other rooms were like so can't speak of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereMarina, Public Relations Manager at Windermere Marina Village, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Windermere Marina Village. I'm pleased to note you found the living accommodation on the first floor to your liking. The property you booked was a two bedroom cottage with a pull down bed in the lounge as you described. We do have three bedroom properties to provide bedroom accomodation for all your party should you have required it. Our check in days are relatively flexible during peak periods (Monday, Tuesday, Friday & Saturday) for the majority of our properties, although the Rusland Cottage can be booked from any day throughout the year. Flexible breaks are available in the majority of our properties through out the winter. Our Reservation Team are on hand to advise you of the best property to meet your needs should you consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Malden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in Windermere village for four nights at the beginning of July. The check-in process was very easy and quick and we were quickly in our apartment which was number 19. The place was very clean very tidy with all mod cons with a fantastic view over the marina. Our stay was peaceful and we had everything that we needed. The only downfall was that the Wi-Fi in the apartment was appalling. The stereo system was fed to everyone room so that you can listen to the stereo whilst you are in the bath, having a shower what in bed. The bar located in the marina was not the best that you could get a basic meal and a drink if you wanted to. The complex was only a 10 minute walk to the town so we found this much better. The gym is situated in a hotel which is a good 15 minute walk from the complex. Overall we had an amazing stay, fantastic accommodation and amazing scenery and would definitely recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andybarnes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 4 days in apartment 25. The apartment is spacious and furnished to a high standard. We were impressed. The addition of the Boathouse bar and restaurant has made this an even better place to stay and I would wholeheartedly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

5 of us (4 adults & a toddler) stayed in Ghyll Cottage for 3 nights.
Both double bedrooms were of a good size, effectively with a bathroom each (1 en-suit and the main bathroom has a door in from both the second bedroom and the corridor). We had a travel cot in the en-suit room for our 2 year old and there was still enough room to get around.
The cottage was a good size; never felt under anyone's feet, it very well equipt, was spotlessly clean and had a lovely view over the marina.

The additional use of the Old England hotel swimming/spa facilities was great.

The onsite Marina Bistro served lovely food and good selection of drinks at good prices.

We would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kad25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Marina Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Marina Village

Property: Windermere Marina Village
Address: The Marina, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering lakeland cottages and luxury apartments nestled around a private marina in the heart of the Lake District.Windermere Marina Village enjoys a secluded location yet is only a few minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windermere Marina Village Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Windermere Marina Village Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing