We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveller rating
405
84
19
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
405
84
19
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages boathouse restaurant balcony overlooking the marina apartment was spotless washing up liquid building work old england watch the boats living room self catering lovely accommodation fantastic holiday everything you could possibly need boat house perfect base travel cot well equipped kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 516 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Spent the weekend in the penthouse suite (number 43) with the whole family. An amazing place with fantastic facilities. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Our son brought his boat up and we arranged with reception to have it launched and moored in the marina. The boatyard closed at 5.30pm but was opened up especially for us, by Andrew, when they arrived at 6.30pm.
It was wonderful to go out on the lake and then come back in wet and 10 of us all disappear for showers. Five bathrooms for 10 people is amazing.
The whole place is beautifully appointed with everything you could possibly wish for.
We had a fabulous weekend with an age range of 72 down to 9 years old and every one thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Room tip: All rooms have marina views.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

This is a spacious 3 bed, 3 bath property that has been refurbished recently. Well equipped kitchen, a smart tv and private WiFi so good signal. Loved the powered recliner on the new sofa and the super king size bed in bed 3. Quiet location but easy walk to Bowness for lively pubs restaurants and shops. The Boathouse bar and restaurant on site served good food and some good draft beers. A great place - we will be back

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank carlosrM3515NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Spent a week here in a two bedroom townhouse overlooking the lagoon. We had plenty of space and it appeared recently refurbished,with good quality fittings and appliances in the kitchen and throughout. The view wasn't as good as the apartments which directly overlook the marina, but we knew that when booking (and didn't spend much time on the balcony anyway). The Boathouse pub is a short walk away and does decent food and drink, although at the moment you have to walk along the busy main road to get there as they are doing building work on the site (which was a bit hairy with a boisterous three year old). Bowness is a 15 minute walk away and you can walk along the river path if you want to avoid the main road. You also get free use of the Choices health club which is a 10 minute drive away - it has a nice pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room and was quiet when we visited. Overall we would highly recommend this place.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peejdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Had a fantastic stay in No.12, 3 very good sized bedrooms, all en suites, fast internet, it's very well appointed, top class furniture, lovely view from the balcony across the marina, very short walk to a shale beach with bbq spot and a view across the lake. Parking across the road. Nice walk to Bowness around the marina,

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We stayed at No.18.

Great location and superbly equipped although 'luxury' is perhaps an overstatement.

I would have given the accommodation a 4 star recommendation albeit for some significant issues;

1. Bedroom: double bed felt very cramped and the heavy polyester wadding duvet was uncomfortable

2. Veranda: beautiful views of the marina, but zero privacy to either side and from above. The verandas need to be screened.

3. Noise: the biggest issue with this particular apartment is the loose manhole cover outside the apartment. Every vehicle which passes agitates the manhole cover and creates a really alarming noise which renders sleep impossible.

But the issue which surpasses all of these is that of neighbour noise: this is a downstairs apartment and the noise from upstairs was just unbearable; stomping and pacing at all hours of the day and night - it was impossible to watch TV with the sound of pounding feet pacing across the upstairs apartment. To make matters worse, when the residents above flushed their toilet it sounded it was loud enough to wake us in the apartment below. This ruined our stay, and yet we were powerless to complain as the residents upstairs were private owners.

Room tip: Avoid downstairs apartments at all ccost
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank indigoandblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah_Sewell, General Manager at Windermere Marina Village, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear indigoandblue

I’m sorry that your stay didn’t meet your expectations. I’ve asked our team to try and rectify the issues you’ve raised that can be attended to.
We offer a wide range of properties - all have individual features that appeal to different customers. Many do have private balconies and king or Super king size beds.

We will always try to address all noise complaints, whatever the source - however as some our properties are apartments some noise from other guests is unfortunately unavoidable.

I hope that we can welcome you to Windermere Marina Village again in the future - our on-site reservations team are on hand 7 days a week to advise the best property for your needs.

Best Regards
Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews