We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful smell”

Holly Cottages Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly Cottages Guest House
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful smell”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great location. Right in the central but as soon as you walk in that awful smell makes you walk out right away. For the price we paid, no breakfast!! Definitely won't go back but very friendly owners. Parking is a bonus and they definitely need a refurbishment furnitures are from 70's nothing has been updated..Seemed like only two of them running the place and they needed a help. 10am check-out is way too early..wouldn't recommend this place..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nuhcicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here 12th October 2013. Walked around bowness after a day on the fells no vacancies!! Found holly cottage was greeted with a smile told they had a double room for £60 for the night.. Owner offered to show me the room before I booked and explained there was only a continental breakfast, room small but cosy, shower hot! Radiators hot! Bed very comfy.. No dogs so no smell.. Happy days for sixty quid!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I have to be fair and say that the location was spot on, on site parking a huge bonus, the reception was very friendly, and the room adequate. However, for £75 a night I expected a little more, for example, soap in the bathroom and biscuits by the kettle. And seriously, at this price, no cooked breakfast? I was appalled to wake up and find the only offerings to be cereal and toast. We have stayed elsewhere in Bowness for £20 cheaper and got the full monty. Overpriced and for that matter would not go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHFSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Not The Ritz but a great location at a more than reasonable price for the centre of Bowness. Room was actually quaint and well appointed, the dining room & hallways could do with a spruce up though. Would stay again, if only for the location.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bazrh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed one night in this B & B accommodation. The location is excellent about a 5 minute walk from the lake,shops, restuarants etc. The place needs updating and general tidy up . In the bedroom one small bar of soap on the sink, no soap or shampoo in the shower. The towells very old, discoloured and needed replacing, Only one bath towel in a double room, so we had to share it!! Breakfast ok. The owner friendly and chatty at brekfast time. Would only stay here again if there was nothing else available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at Holly Cottage 14th July 2013 for 1 night only, we booked 3 rooms. On arrival the first thing we noticed was the smell....awful! The breakfast wasn't much better, the continental breakfast consisted of 3 oranges in a bowl that had obviously sat there for weeks. The cereal was in plastic containers and was obviously out of date, the only thing edible was the toast... We paid 75 pound for 1 room and for a little extra we could have stayed at a much cleaner guest house that served a full english breakfast. In my opinion the whole house was unkempt and needed lots of tlc..the owners were more interested in taking your money than making an effort in being a little more hospitable...would not return, even if it was free!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatOGorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Lovely room, good location and a very friendly service. Only fault was that its sates that it is a bed and breakfast and there wasnt a full english served it was more of a continetal breakfast and I think the type of breakfast sholud be stated. Other than I really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Clean rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
New Hall Bank
New Hall Bank
#20 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#38 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#25 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monties Bed and Breakfast
Monties Bed and Breakfast
#48 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Cottages Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Cottages Guest House

Property: Holly Cottages Guest House
Address: 2 Holly Cottage Rayrigg Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holly Cottages Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Cottages Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing