We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short stay in bowness”

Holly Cottages Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly Cottages Guest House
Ushaw Moor, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“short stay in bowness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at Holly Cottages guest house for a short stay and was overjoyed that it was so close to the town and boats. the couple were very nice people and very very helpful. The room was very clean as was the dinning room / lounge,car parking space which was a bonus,and the charged the batteries for my mobility scooter, great people, many thanks for great stay. we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights, hosts were incredibly helpful. Stayed in room 7 which was very clean and nicely decorated with a modern en suite. Fresh new towels, new bed covers and mattress very comfy with excellent views of the garden. Was a stones throw away from everything and the only smell on entry was of fresh flowers. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Street1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Breakfast was as stated and you can help your self to as much as you like. Jim and Jan are a couple of lovely characters always keen to help. Room clean and comfortable at rear of building (room 7) extremely enjoyable weekend break and would definitely stay again as great value for money in an excellent location!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked this last minute for a trip to Windermere and really enjoyed our experience here. The hosts were incredibly warm and helpful. We were in Windermere for only one night and the hosts really helped up with planning what to do and how to get there. Thank you! The breakfast consisted of fresh tea or coffee, fruits, croissants, and toast with jam and butter. We really enjoyed our night there and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a room on the back side as the front faces the main road and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkfruit22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

A last minute booking, and all we wanted was a clean comfortable bed with good location, and that is what we got. We had seen holly cottage on past visits and always thought it looked a boot run down, so wouldn't have been our first choice, however, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the owners were lovely, polite, helpful, if a little eccentric! The bedroom was clean, and well appointed, breakfast though continental was good, and top ups of coffee and toast plentiful. Don't expect to much and you won't be disappointed!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank andyloulou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great location. Right in the central but as soon as you walk in that awful smell makes you walk out right away. For the price we paid, no breakfast!! Definitely won't go back but very friendly owners. Parking is a bonus and they definitely need a refurbishment furnitures are from 70's nothing has been updated..Seemed like only two of them running the place and they needed a help. 10am check-out is way too early..wouldn't recommend this place..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nuhcicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here 12th October 2013. Walked around bowness after a day on the fells no vacancies!! Found holly cottage was greeted with a smile told they had a double room for £60 for the night.. Owner offered to show me the room before I booked and explained there was only a continental breakfast, room small but cosy, shower hot! Radiators hot! Bed very comfy.. No dogs so no smell.. Happy days for sixty quid!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#4 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Hall Bank
New Hall Bank
#23 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stockghyll Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Stockghyll Cottage Bed and Break...
#34 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Cottages Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Cottages Guest House

Property: Holly Cottages Guest House
Address: 2 Holly Cottage Rayrigg Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Holly Cottages Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Cottages Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing