We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little Gem for a great week”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
simonmerr...
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Little Gem for a great week”
Reviewed 3 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

I booked this apartment based upon the price, location, photographs and the other reviews I had read on TA. Our only concern was that it was pet friendly and whilst we are dog lovers and have owned dogs we currently do not have one and we were worried about the potential 'doggy smell'. We need not have worried. Upon arrival we found a spotless, clean apartment with no smell of animals. It was so clean I found it hard to believe it was pet friendly. I do agree that it should be listed as a studio apartment as the bedroom is split with a wall that come across 2/3 of the way with no door but that does not matter when only two of you are staying. The apartment is extremely well equipped with a kitchen not out of place in a 3 bed house. All the appliances are top notch and nothing cheap. For holiday rental we were delighted with the standard. Its location is fantastic, close to the centre of Bowness ideal for all shops, pubs, restaurants and the lake. Another plus was the key lock on the wall meaning you could leave your keys every night without worrying about losing them.....in closing, spotless, very well equipped with good standard equipment, ideal location, will definately return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Reviewed 3 March 2012 for a stay in December 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oswestry
Reviewed 19 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sunderland
Reviewed 10 March 2011 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
scotland
Reviewed 8 February 2011 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
denna61
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 22 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011
1
person found this review helpful

After reading the previous reviews, i was looking forward to a lovely clean well positoned cottage, and i wasnt wrong, this place is beautiful, so well looked after, and so comfortable. January in the Lakes was cold, but the cottage was so cozy with it remote control fires, and having sky tv was a bonus on the first and only rainy day we had on the Sunday. All in all its a really lovely place to stay. So close to everything you will need.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evo5dave
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great find”
Reviewed 26 December 2010 for a stay in December 2010

This little apartment represents budget accommodation but size and budget isn't everything. What impresses when entering the apartment is the level of cleanliness and the fact that nothing seems tired or worn. After a few minutes in the apartment you begin to notice other good things: the fact that you have Sky TV, remote control lighting, a washer dryer and a dishwasher. But none of these things are fitted just for the sake of looking good on the brochure: everything is excellent quality: the washer/dryer is AEG and the dishwasher is Bosch. The owner of this place has really made an effort to make it not only welcoming but also a comfortable stay for a week or much more.

When we stayed, during the big freeze of December 2010, a water pipe burst somewhere outside which caused no inconvenience except for a loud hissing of water. On contacting the owner, he visitied the property, rectified the problem and offered 'a large discount' if we ever wanted to book again.

Better and cleaner than most hotel rooms and yet a fraction of the price.

Oh and I forgot the location. Perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing