We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service and food”
Review of Mela Spice Fusion

Mela Spice Fusion
Price range: US$17 - US$22
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“excellent service and food”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

clean and very cosy.
food was excellent service was good too.
would recommend this indian.
tandoori chicken with a vindaloo sauce, food was hot and very tasty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LOVESLIFETOTHEFULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    206
    78
    50
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have never eaten such a disgusting Indian meal. We ordered 2 cokes upon arrival which were both flat, when we asked them to change them the waiter snatched the glasses away and 5 minutes later returned with 2 more equally flat glasses of coke. The popadoms were old and not at all fresh. When the main meals turned up even the look of them was disgusting. I ordered a chicken naga chilli ( which I order almost every time we go out for a curry)it had absolutely no taste at all. So obvious it was a ordinary curry with lots if curry powder added. The chicken was old and really dry.
My wife ordered chicken jalfrezi which was as flavourless and looked just as disgusting as mine. A bowl of dried up chicken onion and peppers. The rice was awful and both the naan breads were different to what was ordered. I just asked for the bill and when I spoke to the waiter about the quality of the food he just looked at me then walked off!! So rude.
I wouldn't eat from here ever again even if they were paying me.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaykel46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It was manic but worth it!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We tried to get in 3 other restaurants to no avail! Mela was our last chance before we got fish & chips and back to our bed and breakfast.

In fact we got the last table before they started turning people away, never seen that ever before.

The service was superb even though they were under pressure and they never hurried us out until we were ready.

Really different to your usual Indian restaurant more Fusion.

I had a Naga chicken curry only had 2 chilli for hotness , it was hot was not unbearable , not sure I could try the vindaloo it had 5 chilli for hotness.

My wife had a chicken curry with lemon , she said no idea how they made that it was so tasty like nothing she had ever had in her life!

We live in Kent so we can't wait to return but next time we will book!

Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, good service. Well recommended.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend have been to Mela before and this time went with my sister and husband. They were a bit apprehensive at first however once we sat and got a drink they were good. The service was excellent, we ordered poppodoms and needed an extra tray which was no problem to them. We ordered a main and rice each and garlic nann. We were all so impressed with the food it was spot on. One of the best Indians I have had in ages leaving us wanting more.....
And it was reasonable priced which you don't get in Indians usually.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LND88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food good service”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived at Mela without booking early on a Saturday night but were still able to have a table. we were a little apprehensive but no need, the food and the service were top notch. Portions were generous and the Madras WAS Madras. nice and spicy. Staff were very helpful and friendly and they were glad to help out. would certainly visit again when I am next in Bowness!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidCDEC1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mela Spice Fusion also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Mela Spice Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing