We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mela Spice Fusion

Mela Spice Fusion
Price range: US$17 - US$22
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

me and my partner ate here on a Tuesday night, we arrived at around 20.00 and were told upstairs was full so would we mind sitting downstairs. This was not a problem, however laster on it was noted that another couple who had not booked were taken directly up stairs in the table we were told was not available (he showed us on a CCTV screen.) the waiter downstairs appeared incredibly nervous throughout our service. He was awkward to watch during serving others. the food came quickly and was of a reasonable quality. However I have eaten at much nicer Indian restaurants. The atmosphere was spoilt by the server downstairs who on several occasions came to ask if we wanted our starter to which we replied we have already eaten it - you removed the plates. Maybe he was stressed or maybe lacked confidence in his job role.
I would recommend you want quick service and can sit upstairs, but as mentioned this was no where near the best curry we have eaten. Just average.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherrybellrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    202
    75
    48
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“BEST AUTHENTIC INDIAN I'VE HAD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The Restaurant's upstairs, in the centre of Bowness & a little small, so i'd recommend booking for peak times. But the food was excellent. The Best Indian i & our friends have had. Really good value for money too.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DG-Lancashire-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cracking food, very good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We've been here many times and always found the food and service to be excellent.
It can get very busy though and when it does, some of the lesser used tables are used and they can be a tight fit.
Overall, well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“mela good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

went to mela with my wife on friday 22nd first time for us the service was second to none my wife had a chicken chat i had sheek kebab both very tasty for mains we had chicken tikka rogan josh and chicken tikka balti pilau rice chips and a garlic naan all was very tasty would deffo go back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baz1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Second visit and still love the food and the staff. Very good prices, staff are great. Coming back on Boxing Day 2014. Would recommend you book as it can get busy.

Helpful?
Thank themorgLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mela Spice Fusion also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Mela Spice Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing