We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perhaps a Smile would be nice?”
Review of The Old Pump House

The Old Pump House
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Pump House is a small well established coffee shop, we specialise in good coffee, fantastic home made cakes, sandwiches etc. We also have fresh fruit frozen yoghurts, icecream, icecream milkshakes,smoothies and lots lots more. Come and see for yourself.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perhaps a Smile would be nice?”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Walking past here and realised a snack was in order. Never been in before so didnt know what to expect. Only 3 other customers in on our visit, we stood looking at the menu (over the counter) deciding what to have as the lady behind the counter just stood and stared at us, we ordered and got no smile, no thanks at all.
Had our snack and left without a bye bye, defo not be going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Churchills37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    15
    7
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst decaff coffee we have ever had the misfortune to purchase.”
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Called here for a coffee, I am caffeine intolerant therefore my wife and I only drink decaff. Ordered two coffees expecting a nice ground coffee as this was supposed to be a coffee shop, got the cheapest nastiest weak instant served, my wife and I took one sip, looked at each other got up and walked out!Luckily Costa 5minutes walk away quenched our thirst!! Do NOTexpect a good decaff here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute little cafe with lake views”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Me and my partner visit the lakes fairly regularly and this little cafe is one of our better finds in Bowness. It has a varied selection to offer aswell as a friendly atmosphere. We sat outside in the sunshine, with coffees and a huge jam and cream scone. Both were delicious. I have never thought to write a review but after looking at some of the below, I thought it necessary to share our positive experiences. Definitely will be back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Coffee shop but not on par with competitors”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

A little disappointed, hot choc was a powder and latte didn't taste of coffee. If you call yourself a coffee shop in this day and age, you have to be a coffee shop.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 13Kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Verbally abused whilst in the customer toilet by the Manager.”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I had a sandwich at this coffee shop. I went to the outside toilet with my two year old son to change his nappy. When I was nearly finished the manager was banging on the door shouting at me to hurry up, as as well as other verbal abuse, that she had a hernia and needed the toilet. She told me she was the manager as if that was good enough reason to be sooooo rude. I will be taking this matter further.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Rosaleen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Pump House also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Old Pump House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing