We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrific”
Review of The Old Pump House

The Old Pump House
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Pump House is a small well established coffee shop, we specialise in good coffee, fantastic home made cakes, sandwiches etc. We also have fresh fruit frozen yoghurts, icecream, icecream milkshakes,smoothies and lots lots more. Come and see for yourself.
randalstown
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Horrific”
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

No baby changing!!!
To get to the toilet which was horrible, dirty and dinghy you had to go outside.
Nothing home made. Ice cream out of a machine.
They even charge 60p for a mug of hot water!!
A complete no no ..... Never again!!! Wish I would of walked out.
My husband had to go back to car to change my baby!!! What an insult not to have baby changing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weegemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    15
    7
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The most miserable unwelcoming staff ever”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This cafe must have THE most miserable and unwelcoming staff in Windermere. Tall dark haired foreign accented woman with a love of scarves and a short blonde on duty the day we went . No 'Hello' upon entering , just completely blank stares from the two of them , ' Grumpy and Grumpier'. When you enter a Cafe you wonder if it's self or waitress service and so look a bit unsure and their stares did nothing to help. Actually made me feel quite uncomfortable. If it hadn't been as miserable outside ( Pouring down) as it was inside i'd have turned and walked straight back out . As we were eating the miserable dark haired stomped about clearing up plates and jumped up and down on crisp boxes to flatten them making everyone who wasn't facing her jump in their seats . Quite funny that was. Anyway , they don't deserve to be in business and i bet none of the locals go there , they only manage to stay open with tourist business i expect , and the great location right next to the Lake is a massive plus for them .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NewbiesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very unfriendly and overpriced”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We called here for lunch after visiting the lake and I found that the staff were miserable! The food was spectacularly overpriced for what you were given, our sandwich didn't have any finesse, it was just a bun on a plate. My husband ordered a panini which arrived after we'd all finished our sandwiches and then the lady started clearing away our empty dishes whilst my son and husband were still eating. I watched the staff whilst I was eating and they were so unfriendly considering most were on holiday, overall an unfriendly cafe that I would definitely not recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne34123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Redeeming feature - we could have Horlicks”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Possibly the worst welcome we have had for a long time. Grumpy miserable staff. Average food although the Horlicks was a bonus on a cold day.

Toilet was outside round the back - looked clean but smelt like a dirty public gents - not nice :-(

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannyC185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Visited this cafe on Lake Windermere, on our visit it wasnt heaving with people and so we found it very relaxing. Prices were very competitive and would recommend a visit if you are in the area

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurieLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Pump House also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Old Pump House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing