We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than last time”
Review of Latimer House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Latimer House
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Even better than last time”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

What a lovely time our party had, enjoyed it even better than the first time. The service was better the facilities better and the breakfast was as good will be back next year.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    30
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
93
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at New Year - I got a really good deal on booking.com. The hosts were wonderful and offered us tea and biscuits in the lounge as soon as we arrived. I wasn't sure about the 'breakfast in the room' thing until we had our first one and I am hooked! It's lovely to be able to sit and ear in your pyjamas in your room! The rooms were clean (ours was quite small, but not a problem) and very clean. Biscuits, Roses (chocs!) and still and sparkling mineral water were a nice touch in the room. Excellent location in Bowness, about 5 mins walk from the Lake.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLucyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed for a 2 night weekend and were entirely satisfied. The location is fantastic for a short stroll into lovely Bowness, the ensuite room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was exceptional and served bang on time in our room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demonknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed here weekend 20-22 May 2011, and could not fault the B+B after staying in various B+Bs in Ambleside and Bowness over the past 2 years. The couple that run the B+B were very helpful and welcoming.

Parking is restricted like most places we have stayed in the lakes but we never had a problem or had to move our car to let another out.

Breakfast is served in your room here, which has advantages as the food is great and you can pre order what you would like to eat and we never went hungry. The only downside is that you need to hang around and wait in your room 0830-0900.

The location of this B+B is fantastic, only a short walk down the hill to the main shops and restaurants and lake.

Our room was lovely we had a double with en suite and worked out value for money. The tea and coffee making facilities were really nice and stocked up during the 2 days we were there. Downstairs there is a lovely lounge area and shortly after we arrived the couple served us tea / coffee in the lounge which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I booked a break for me and my partner to Latimer House as the location was excellent and Windermere is a beautiful place to visit.

Upon our arrival, the gentleman owner was polite, courteous, invited us in to explain how the room keys worked, explain how breakfast is served and when we'd like it.

The room was an en-suite at the back of the house...quiet, beautifully decorated and very clean. The en-suite is not very big at all, a foot wider would have been perfect but it was spotless and the shower was great.

Unfortunately, we had to leave after 2 nights due to personal circumstances. My partner went to arrange for us to leave and was promptly and rudely told by the lady owner that we'd have to pay "full price for the 3 nights we reserved"... My partner attempted to explain we had not booked/reserved/even hinted that we were staying for 3 nights and she bluntly replied with "Well, it's policy" and just poked the policy framed on the wall.

I have to say everything was perfect up to this point, the owners were quiet and stayed out of your way, but when breakfast was served it was prompt, hot and very tasty with a lot of choice. The beds were very comfortable and the room was great. There were nice tea/coffee facilities which were used a lot by us after walking around in the cold wind!

What shocked me most was the audacity of this woman telling us we had to pay full whack, which was "part of their B&B policy". What she failed to realise that this policy was null and void and never applicable to us as we have now come to realise we had never paid the £40 deposit usually required (and mentioned in the policy she poked at) as it was never mentioned by either her, or her husband prior to us reserving the room on the morning of our arrival.

I would recommend this B&B but only if you make it VERY VERY CLEAR how many nights your staying. BEWARE that they pay attention to their OWN POLICY. We're unfortunately very disillusioned with Windermere and this B&B and won't be returning as we now view the owners as thieves and have made the necessary tourist boards aware.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank TiffanyElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#39 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westmorland Inn
Westmorland Inn
#13 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latimer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latimer House

Property: Latimer House
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Latimer House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Latimer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latimer House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing