We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Latimer House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Latimer House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stopped at the latimer for 2 nights weekend of 21st june 2013 . We were greeted by a lovely pleasant lady who offered us a pot of tea on arrival and shown to our room . Which was room number 4 overlooking the main road . The room itself was very small and quite noisy on a morning due too the traffic and the toilet and shower were also shared but not a problem to use at any time . Breafast was. Choice of full english or smoked salmon . I tried both on different days and both were very nice . You also get a choice of the breakfast to be served in bed. Which is a good idea if youve had 1 to many the night before . Overall id say my only gripe was the size of our room . But a nice little spot about a 5 minute walk down the bank to the centre .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidtuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

My sister and I stayed at Latimer House for a night late May. Researched online, it was an excellent choice. We agree with all the positive comments written by other reviewers with the bonus that we enjoyed our breakfast in the delightful, newly finished, Breakfast Room, complete with lovely views over the garden. We were in Bowness to meet friends from Australia, who were staying in a MUCH more expensive hotel down the road. After visiting that hotel, my sister and I agreed that choosing again - we would be choosing the Latimer. We would have liked to have stayed another night but......surprise, surprise, the Latimer was fully booked.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Searcher21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed in room 5, twin room for 2 nights with my sister. The owners are friendly and offered us a cup of tea on arrival.
The hotel is in a great location for Bowness, it's clean and the beds are so comfy. Heating adjustable and breakfast served in room which was great for us.
Book this hotel as you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayj4973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed here for one night recently. Could not fault the place! Location of this B+ B is perfect, just up the road from the shops, pubs, restaurants and of course the lake. The hotel is lovely and the owners are very hospitable, offering tea and fresh baked scones on arrival. Myself and my partner stayed in Room 1, which had a king size bed. The room was spotless and the bed was really comfy. Best of all we had a full breakfast served in the room (we thought this was brilliant as you don't even have to get ready for downstairs). If you are going to stay in Bowness, try to stay here as you will not be disappointed. One last thing - you can park on site, which some hotels don't seem to have. I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeyans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I have just enjoyed a lovely weekend break at Latimer House... loved the warm personal welcome from Chris and Gerd. Special touch was breakfast in bed in our room, loved the fresh, grilled full breakfast and fresh fruit. This B&B has luxury touches such as the egyptian cotton towels and bed linen & little bottles of water in the rooms. I look forward to my next visit already. The friendly helpful owners are in the middle of building a breakfast room, although I must admit I enjoyed the treat of it in bed! Only let down was the en suite shower, a little small and not the warmest but not enough to put me off visiting again.

Room Tip: recommend the king size deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxclass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Lovely weekend away, gorgeous breakfast in our room, owners couldn't do enough for us, we didn't arrive until 8 and were offered tea and scones in our room, lovely guest house not far from the lake... Only downside was the ensuite in our room was a little small, but overall everything was excellent :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bon1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

When we arrived we were greeted with a very warm welcome from Chris and Gerd.We were offered complimentary tea and scones in our room,delicious! The room was spotless,very comfortable bed. The bathroom was small as expected in an English B&B but was a great shower.
We ticked a menu for our breakfast and it was served in our room,it was a real treat and most tasty. We will most certainly return to Latimer house.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
582 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,030 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latimer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latimer House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £70 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Latimer House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Latimer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latimer House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing