We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Debby and Mark. Wonderful!”
Review of Latimer House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Latimer House
Certificate of Excellence
machynlleth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Debby and Mark. Wonderful!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Latimer house for three nights for my birthday. We know the area well and have stayed at a number of places in the location. This was one of the best with lovely welcoming hosts, very comfy room and tasty breakfast served in the beautiful breakfast room. lovely attention to detail in every way, would reccommend to everyone! Thank you for making our stay very special indeed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    27
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
84
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent a lovely Easter weekend in the Lake District and our stay in Latimer House only added to it.
The location is great, walking distance to Bowness-on-Windermere and Windermere. There's off street parking next to the house just off the main road between Bowness and Windermere.
The accommodation is very clean and tidy and tastefully decorated in a traditional style which adds character.
The biggest draw for us however was the host, who throughout our stay could not have been more welcoming, friendly and obliging. She had a fantastic knowledge of the Lake District and was always more than happy to help us plan our trips.
She was also very thoughtful and attentive and had an uncanny knack of being able to preempt and fulfil our requests!
I cannot fault Latimer House and would fully recommend to anyone. I hope to return there some day, if only to say hello to the host!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JamesDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The B and B is 5 minutes walk from the very centre of the town.
The welcome was warm and welcoming, with lots of local information given by the owners. The room was comfortable with a high standard of cleanliness , and crisp white linen and towels. The hospitality tray had biscuits and a selection of teas.
Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked, with a menu to fill in the previous night, in a beautiful spacious dining room, with soothing classical music. Each table had it's own character, with individual bone china sets on each table.
I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for a night over Christmas as a quiet getaway from the kids.Hotel was located right in the middle of Bowness and very handy for all amenaties. Weather was terrible so this was great. Welcome was very friendly, we were taken to our room which was superb. Very clean, good size and had everything we wanted. Hotel only has 6 rooms which made it lovely and quiet. Bed was comfy and room was nice and warm. Breakfast was served down stairs but you could get it in your room. Choice was great and cooked very well. Overall Our stay was just what we wanted for a nice bit of peace and quiet. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The house is lovely and the hosts made us feel more than welcome. The location is perfect, near train station, bus stop, Bowness pier ( which all direct to Ambleside, another lovely village), and there's also a cinema just 2 minutes walking away if you have nothing to do in the evening. All public transportation here close early (at 4pm) so remember to wake up early to enjoy a full day out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our room was immaculate and the bed very comfortable.
Breakfast was beautifully presented in the light and airy breakfast room.
The owner was very welcoming and extremely helpful.
The shower was a little small but decades of excessive pie consumption means I am partly to blame for this!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A1000_TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at the end of September for a beautiful long weekend and had a really good rest. Beds were fabulous, never slept anywhere that well. Breakfasts excellent and a good choice. The house is over 160 years old and the owners have kept its character. Landlady was extremely friendly and nothing was too much effort.
I would definitely come again.

Room Tip: ask for the Deluxe Room with king sized bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latimer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latimer House

Property: Latimer House
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Latimer House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Latimer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latimer House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing