We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable 3 day break”
Review of May Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
May Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Sue really looked after us and provided lots of info about where to go and what to see in the area. If you like the 'personal touch' you won't be disappointed, cup of tea on arrival, v. friendly, we felt right at home straight away. The location was good, being less than a 5 min walk into Bowness.
We stayed in room 1 which was lovely and I didn't hear any complaints from other guests about their rooms.
We loved the breakfasts - healthy and wholesome.

Would stay again. Highly recommended,

Room Tip: Room 1 - bathroom lovely - modern with bath and shower. Overlooked by neighbouring property but blin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpacafeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

A lovely small B&B with spacious, clean and comfortable rooms and impressive en-suites. The full English breakfast was delicious and not a big grease-fest as fry-ups can be! Sue and Len were very friendly and Sue is never short of a story to tell at breakfast time! The free leisure passes came in handy for a freezing cold rainy day . May Cottage is about a 2 minute walk down the hill in to the centre of Bowness which is a lovely small town with lots of good walks and easy access to other places around Windermere. A fantastic stay, recommended to young and old!

Room Tip: Room 1 had a ginormous bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlychops87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I booked this b'n'b after reading good reviews on here and was not disappointed. Dont book through booking companies ring the b'n'b direct we made this mistake and paid more than we should have. Sue the owner made our time there lovely she couldnt do enough for you and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was gorgeous and everywhere was spotless. I wish sue and len the best for the future they deserve it

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nic-b90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at the May Cottage for two nights. The rooms are absolutely spotless, with large beds and beautiful bathroom/shower rooms. The owner Sue is a very pleasant person giving lots of ideas of where to go and telling wonderful stories of haunted places. Nothing was too much for her. The breakfast was very tasty and cooked to your liking.

The cottage itself is in an excellent location with pubs and restaurants within a couple of minutes walking time.

We had a very enjoyable time. Sue and Len the owners do a wonderful job and deserve the brilliant reputation they have. We wish them all the luck for the future.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the best room, but the other 2 are lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Great stay and really good value for money for this area. Hosts very helpful & friendly. Rooms were beautiful and en suites extra high spec. So convenient to lake and town - 3 min walk. Food was awesome.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Phill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Of all the bed and breakfasts we have stayed in, and there have been some really nice ones, May Cottage was just perfect for us and is a nicely decorated, stylish place with a touch of class. It was clean, warm, comfortable, and provided a marvellous healthy breakfast. Car parking easy. So many things to see and do. We we will be back! It's a perfect place and location. Close to the lake. Wish more places were like this!

Room Tip: They are all lovely. The one we chose had a fantastic pressurized shower, which is all we needed. Fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Beautiful setting, beautiful cottage and lovely people. On arrival we were offered a cup of tea and shown to our room which was clean, well decorated and had an AMAZING bathroom, including a power shower with a kettle and condiments included. We were informed of local amenities and recommended visits. We forgot our toothpaste, and were kindly offered a tube.

The cottage is situated 1 minute from town, and 3 minutes from the lake which we could see from our window. It was also a 10 minute walk to the cross river (50p pedestrian) ferry.

The breakfast was well-cooked, tasty, and an excellent start to the day, with as much toast and jam as we wanted on top of the full english, cereal and fresh fruit salad.
The gym facilities were in a neighbouring hotel, a 2 minute walk away and had simple, clean spa facilities.

We returned from a day out to find our room spotless, a freshly made bed, and a pair of wine glasses for the wine we had on the side table - a lovely touch.
Overall, an excellent experience and have already recommended to family and friends.
Definitely the place to stay if visiting in and around Bowness.

Room Tip: We had room number 1 which had lake views from bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHMB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,996 reviews
0 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Cottage

Address: May Cottage Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £70 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — May Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to enjoy your Lake break with us in a super location close to Lake Windermere and village life. From a super location, our family home offers *** quality Bed & Breakfast, with three ensuite rooms & one Budget ensuite room. (- We do not offer or provide the standards and services of a Guest House or Hotel.) Direct contact ensures the best tariffs, as our many returning guests know! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your May Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Cottage Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing