We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of May Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
May Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at this b&b.
It was in a perfect location to get everywhere and sue was very informative and knew of lots of things to do whilst staying in bowness.
The room was so lovely and really clean. If we needed anything sue seemed to have it all and was very helpful.
Breakfast was yummy and the portion was just right.
Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azzibeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    28
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
173
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Loved our 3 days staying at May Cottage from 1st arriving to leaving felt so relaxed.
Sue is an excellent host & her hubby Len cooks a fantastic breakfast cooked to perfection.
Its the best breakfast I have had in Bowness & we have stayed at a fair few b & b's.& Hotels
There is also fresh fruit cereals etc on offer & nothing is too much trouble.
We overheard Sue offering to take some guests to the Railway Station to catch their train home what a lovely touch .We travelled by car & had no trouble parking in their carpark at the back.
We stayed in Room 2 lovely & comfortable with a fab shower room .It was so clean spotless.
Would definately without a doubt stay again & Highly Recommend.Thanks Sue & Len.

Room Tip: Room 2 - Fab Shower Good View on the Roadside but great sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiamondGirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

What a lovely b&b, very clean homely and very welcoming. Sue made us very welcome as soon as we arrived and big thanks to Len for a wow breakfast!!! My husband and i had been out all day and came back to Sue making us a cup of tea and bringing it up to our room even though we had facilities in our room. Thats what i call great service. Sue is full of great knowledge of all areas and gives you plenty of ideas of what to do. May cottage is in a great spot only couple mins walk to village where there are great bars, shops and restaurants. My hubby not been to lakes before, he said he would definately go back and stay here. If you want a homely, friendly place to stay May cottage is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidbeach64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Excellent location in centre of Bowness seconds from the lake. Very clean, homely, tasty breakfast.

Len & Sue make this lovely b&b even more special. Made us very welcome in their home. Passed lots of tips on local restaurants. Even gave us a lift to the pub!!!

Will DEFINATELY be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsw
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

May cottage is the nicest b&b we have stayed at in the uk huge room,comfy armchairs , a huge newly tiled bath shower.close to shops etc .sue makes you feel very welcome .Breakfast was great ,very friendly atmosphere in the dining room,we would recomend may cottage for people who want a b&b a little bit nicer than the norm.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

After managing to get a room here at so short notice am my partner and his mum are very happy we did. It is a very cosy and friendly b & b. the service is excellent and the shops bars restaurants are a min walk away. I definatley would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swallowstearooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

May cottage is without a doubt the nicest b&b I have ever stayed in. The rooms are immaculate, cleaned everyday. The bathroom was very good with modern fittings and good bath shower. The breakfast is very satisfying and the lady that runs it keeps you entertained with local stories and news. Me and my partner were made to feel incredibly welcome and we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexlovesdeserts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Cottage

Property: May Cottage
Address: May Cottage Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — May Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to enjoy your Lake break with us in a super location close to Lake Windermere and village life. From a super location, our family home offers *** quality Bed & Breakfast, with three ensuite rooms & one Budget ensuite room. (- We do not offer or provide the standards and services of a Guest House or Hotel.) Direct contact ensures the best tariffs, as our many returning guests know! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your May Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Cottage Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing