We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in the Lake District ”
Review of May Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
May Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Had the most perfect stay in May Cottage over the Easter bank holiday weekend. Lovely little house with a very short walk down to Bowness, great to find all the restaurants and shops. Sue was very welcoming and took our bags when we arrived, and was extremely helpful throughout giving us good tips of where to go each day. Sue also organised bike hire for us and got the bikes delivered to the house ! Breakfasts were also great.

Lovely place, clean rooms and great hosts, thank you

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

This guest house is far from "budget" as it sometimes describes itself. The owners greet you with a warm welcome with kind offers of tea after a long journey. The location is fantastic with only a two minute walk into town with its amazing array of restaurants and pubs. Another minute or two and you're by the lakeside - perfect. We'd booked the smallest double at the top of the house but a larger room was available so we were given the choice of changing which we did, at a further cost of £40. After a happy 4 night stay, we were amazed when Sue very sweetly gave us the extra money back because she hadn't filled the other room during our stay. Very kind indeed. All in all a very pleasant stay with spotless rooms and a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was perfectly adequate on the top floor but we were shown one of the first floor rooms when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettybillkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Another great stay at May Cottage! We are never let down by the hosts Sue and Len. Well situated, plenty to do......and can't wait for our next visit! I think every season is so different. Daffodils in full bloom everywhere. May Cottage is a Gem!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank th0mas1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just returned from a 2night break /honeymoon at may cottage.what a lovely place to stay ,spotless well decorated throughout.Lovely sue & Len made us really welcome couldn't do enough for us .Stand ins Jackie & bill for the day were lovely aswel nothing was too much trouble would love to stay there again.Gill & Steve. From Wigan,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorans69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was our second visit to May Cottage and we cannot imagine ever staying anywhere else in Bowness ever again. Len and Sue are amazing, nothing is too much trouble. Lens' breakfast is a Super League winner (!!) ..see what i did there? and Sue is a fantastic and entertaining host. Rooms are spotless..I didn't want to give my key back ( there you go Sue xx)
Absolute ideal location
Cannot wait to go back and visit again

Jayne & Paul

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayne56700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a short stay in May Cottage. This is an exceptional Bed and Breakfast located within walking distance to all amenities. Sue and Len went out of their way to make us feel welcome and nothing we asked was any trouble. We stayed in room 1 which was so cosy and well furnished. Breakfast was lovely and really set us up for the day. We will definitely return to May Cottage hopefully very soon .
Many thanks for everything ..

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kennedy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just got back from a lovely stay with Sue and Len at May Cottage. The room and bathroom were very well kept, the bed was comfortable, the temperature was perfect and we felt refreshed in the morning having had a good nights sleep. The breakfast was delicious and charged us up nicely for the day ahead! There was no shortage of small adventures for us to embark on while we were there as Sue offered some great suggestions for activities based on her excellent knowledge of the area. The hosts were very friendly and entertaining. Highly recommend staying here if you're looking to take a trip to Bowness.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cranleigh Boutique
Cranleigh Boutique
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Cottage

Address: May Cottage Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £75 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — May Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to enjoy your Lake break with us in a super location close to Lake Windermere and village life. From a super location, our family home offers *** quality Bed & Breakfast, with three ensuite rooms & one Budget ensuite room. (- We do not offer or provide the standards and services of a Guest House or Hotel.) Direct contact ensures the best tariffs, as our many returning guests know! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your May Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Cottage Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing