We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the cutest place ever!!!”
Review of May Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
May Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just the cutest place ever!!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This B&B has everything you could ask for it's in a great location for bowness two mins down the road. But if it was ten miles away from my required location I would have to go again never have I been made to feel so welcome sue makes you feel like a friend visiting! The room we had was so cute and cosy we loved it, such comfy beds!!!! The breakfasts where gorgeous every morning, but it's the extras like all the help with planning where to go on our day trips and another lovely thing was as we were out allday sue had sneaked our bottle of proseco in the fridge while we were gone so as we came back it was ready and chilled for us to enjoy on our wedding anniversary :) we were really chuffed !! Thanks again May cottage for a lovely visit and we will deffo be back :) xx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    28
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
173
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our first stay and it certainly won't 'be our last! Can't wait to go back soon.We stayed for 3 nights during May and couldn't have been made more welcome by Sue and Len. The house is so clean and our room was very comfortable and spacious. Len's full English breakfast is a great way to start the day and Sue makes sure that everyone has an enjoyable stay.
We would highly recommend this lovely B&B which is perfectly situated for a great stay in Bowness.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which has a king size bed and a large en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John252014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-lyme
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in room 1 and want to say a big thank you to sue+Len.The bed was so comfortable and the room was great,there is a good choice of breakfast we have not stayed here before and we will stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and would like to say a special thanks to Len and Sue for being such perfect hosts. The house is very nice and clean, and just a few minutes walk from from the lakeside and centre. Sue is very friendly and helpful, and thanks to Len for our wonderful breakfast. It felt like being with family! It would be an easy decision to come back again.

Room Tip: Room two is a good sized family room, with great en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

we stayed for 2 nights in may and want to say thank you Sue and Len for your wonderful hospitality. A great place to stay as so clean and comfortable with a very nice breakfast and great location. We were in a small room at the top of the house but it had all we needed i.e. shower, toilet and tea and coffee making facilities as well as a lovely, comfortable bed which was immaculately clean and fresh linen provided every day.
Please consider this as a base if you plan on visiting the Lake District. You won't be disappointed but think about booking in advance as it is a small place and so popular it could be full.
Once again "thank you"

Room Tip: 1st floor probably better but any would be just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann_paul186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Had the most perfect stay in May Cottage over the Easter bank holiday weekend. Lovely little house with a very short walk down to Bowness, great to find all the restaurants and shops. Sue was very welcoming and took our bags when we arrived, and was extremely helpful throughout giving us good tips of where to go each day. Sue also organised bike hire for us and got the bikes delivered to the house ! Breakfasts were also great.

Lovely place, clean rooms and great hosts, thank you

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This guest house is far from "budget" as it sometimes describes itself. The owners greet you with a warm welcome with kind offers of tea after a long journey. The location is fantastic with only a two minute walk into town with its amazing array of restaurants and pubs. Another minute or two and you're by the lakeside - perfect. We'd booked the smallest double at the top of the house but a larger room was available so we were given the choice of changing which we did, at a further cost of £40. After a happy 4 night stay, we were amazed when Sue very sweetly gave us the extra money back because she hadn't filled the other room during our stay. Very kind indeed. All in all a very pleasant stay with spotless rooms and a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was perfectly adequate on the top floor but we were shown one of the first floor rooms when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettybillkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cranleigh Boutique
Cranleigh Boutique
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Cottage

Property: May Cottage
Address: May Cottage Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — May Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to enjoy your Lake break with us in a super location close to Lake Windermere and village life. From a super location, our family home offers *** quality Bed & Breakfast, with three ensuite rooms & one Budget ensuite room. (- We do not offer or provide the standards and services of a Guest House or Hotel.) Direct contact ensures the best tariffs, as our many returning guests know! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your May Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Cottage Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing