We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant, good value food”
Review of Hyltons

Hyltons
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“pleasant, good value food”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

nicely laid out, spacious with good decor and comfy seats, very appealing from the outset and the food is pretty good too with very good portion sizes. staff where very friendly too, and liked the little touch of having the mirror on the wall so if you where facing it you could see the whole of the restaurant. only complaint wouldbe that the chips looked and tasted frozen, would have sealed a great meal if they where home made.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baz601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    349
    109
    56
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“excellent service”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

situated on the main Street in Windemere, ambience inside was welcoming,
good choice on the menu. Food was of good quality
service was excellent, with pleasant staff

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BLRvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant & convenient”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Located in central Bowness, Hyltons was packed with tourists. Our meals were all good, house wine great and prices average for the area (£50 for 3 adult mains,including wine). The staff were lovely too. Whilst we wouldn't rush back we like trying different places), I would recommend it for a reliably pleasant dinner with family.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food at good prices”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Me and a few friends visited this restaurant this time last year and again this year. Last year our meals were good but not great and only decided to return due to rumours from the locals that new chefs/ meals have improved this restaurant. When we arrived, we were once again made to feel very welcome even though it seemed to be very busy due to the upcoming air show weekend. Anyway, we only had mains and were impressed. Between the three of us we tried the steak, fish and chips along with sausage and mash which were very tasty. My steak arrived perfectly cooked as ordered and tasted gorgeous while my friends seemed very satisified especially after trying many of the distasteful fish and chips shop.
I would recommend this place to families and friends wanting an tasty informal meal in a welcoming atmosphere with prices not bad at all.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
215 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Would Definately Return”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Four of us ate here and all enjoyed our food. Venison pie was really tasty. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very good value.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackiee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hyltons also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hyltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing