We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hyltons”
Review of Hyltons

Hyltons
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hyltons”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My partner and I had a meal here last week. we found the restaurant to be clean and welcoming although a little warm with all the radiators on (very nice initially coming in from the cold but not so nice mid way through meal!)
I chose to have baked camembert followed by swordfish steak and it was all beautiful, well presented, good size portions and very tasty
My partner had chilli prawns followed by ribeye steak which again was very tasty. Unfortunately we didn't have room for dessert.
The waiting staff were unobtrusive which was nice but available if required.
This is the second time we have been to Hyltons and the quality has been consistent (we last went back in June) so I have no doubt we will return next time we visit the lakes

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philandjulia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    345
    108
    56
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Average food very poor service”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Arrived on a very bust Saturday night requested a table and waited less than 10 minutes . After being shown to our table with drinks ordered at bar we were given menus .
The waitress returned took order for starters and main course
We began to think we were never to see food ordered what could take such a long time to put humus in a bowl and warm some pitta breadcrumbs. The goats cheese with figs and honey would take a little longer !!! .
When they arrived they had run out of figs ,no one thought to come back and tell us this ,so my husband was offered a free drink to make up for missing figs
Now the wait for main course at one point we nearly walked out we almost forgot what we had ordered.
Eventually food arrived tough chicken sitting on a plate of tasteless tomato sauce ,husband said his food was fine .
Did not order deserts could not imagine how long it could take to bring these

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank forster159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, good atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We've eaten in this restaurant now and both times have been very enjoyable. There is a wide choice of food on the menu and the specials blackboards, and there is a well stocked bar. Both times (June and November) the restaurant has been busy and has had a lively atmosphere. The service is quite relaxed - I won't say slow - which is fine if you are out for the night, but if you are in a rush it's something to be mindful of. However the food is worth waiting for and all the staff are very friendly. It's excellent value for money and in a convenient place as well. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BourbonDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A great surprise”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Went to Hyltons on the second evening of a weeks holiday in the Lake District. Nice atmosphere, great food (especially goats cheese, honey and fig starter) and the lady who served us was very friendly. Plan to return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This restaurant had a welcoming feel and was centrally situated on the main street in Bowness. I would say our meal was reasonable but I probably wouldn't be dashing back there. We waited quite a long time for our food (I would say close to an hour) and mine (some kind of Italian chicken in tomato bechmel sauce) was not that great, a bit tasteless. The chips were nice though. My friend had fish and chips and was ill later on in the day however we can't be certain that it was the food from here. It was reasonably priced (about £8-10 for a main)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hyltons also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hyltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing