We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited menu” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyltons

Hyltons
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Limited menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Limited menu but platter for two and Caesar wrap worked out just right for lunch. Was told evening good, staff could do with smiling a bit more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    330
    105
    55
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had just arrived in Windermere, parked the car and walked to Bowness. Needless to say, we were starving. Two fish & chips and a jacket potato later, we were happy again. Good pub food. My companions told me that the fish & chips were superb. I had the jacket potato and it was copious and good quality.
At around £25 drinks included, this was very good value and we could go and explore Lake Windermere. Also, free wi-fi, which allowed me to check business emails, etc.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WalsallLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I ate here on a wet day in May. The restaurant was empty when I went in but quickly filled up. The food was fine, nothing special but I wasn't disappointed for what I paid. Service was unenthusiastic but not rude.

There is nothing special about this restaurant but nothing really bad either. It would not be on my list to go back too unless other restaurants were full.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The restaurant is fine, lacking a little in atmosphere and the service was fine, nothing special but the food was very good and good value. We had fish and chips, Lamb rump, pulled pork and gammon. All were served on interesting shaped plates and in good quantity, just what we needed after a days walking

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harding_Family123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Very good meal on a dreich Sunday night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have walked past this restaurant many times while on holiday in Bowness but have never actually gone in. This year we went out very late on a Sunday night - pouring with rain - in an attempt to find decent sustenance! Hyltons had tables and a reasonable menu so we decided to give it a go. We were delighted that we did! Both had the lamb hotpot - delicious and warming - and I had a pudding. We shared a bottle of wine which was a good price for Bowness. Food prices OK.

Waitress was lovely and was quite happy to bring us more tasty bread to sop up the gravy! Despite the lateness and the fact that the restaurant was quiet we did not feel that we had to eat and run - ambiance was relaxed.

Will definitely return here (earlier!) and would recommend to others.

Thank you for a positive experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank avrilritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hyltons also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hyltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing