We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful Ruskin's”
Review of Ruskin's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ruskin's
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed at ruskin's for the second time in June decided to stay there again because we found the staff and the owner very helpful - honest and we always had a friendly welcome
the staff will always give advise on where to eat or what places to visit. We wondered around Bowness
and tried the Thai resturant one night then english the next, but there are italian and other places to eat including the good old fish and chip shop. Then we always headed back to the ruskin's bar knowing that our bed was just upstairs, we had room seven at the rear of the hotel and could see lake windermere over the roof tops not a bad view to wake up to. All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the ruskin's and bowness on windermere

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onejon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

I have stayed at this "pub" years ago its in good location in centre of Windermere. I thought hubby and I would see what the new style "Ruskins" provided as it looked very stylish on the website.Wrong, my first concern was the manager standing with a roll up in hand smoking just inside the pub door, followed by the smell of stale beer, and dirty floors...
The bedroom was up three flights of stairs, fairly decent size. The bathrom was very small with a shower, the shower door was hanging off, the suround was filthy and the shower head very dirty.... the Bed was low, the teddy bear and one chocolate on the bed did not distract that the walls were stained .... We chose not to stay there.

Room Tip: Look before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank mini66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Nice clean rooms, very friendly staff. £65.00 for the night including the dog and lovely big breakfast. Really handy for exploring the shops and the lake would go again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneDaveMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed for 3 nights. Reasonably priced , very friendly staff, great breakfast included in price. Very comfortable bed and large shower room. Had a great weekend. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SANDRAandMICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I booked to stay here for my fiance birthday and the staff did everything they could to make our stay wonderful decorating the room with banners and balloons, was definitely a birthday he will remember, would definitely book again

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauryna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Just had a fantastic weekend at Ruskin´s. From the moment we arrived the staff couldnt do enough for us, directing us to the free parking round the corner from the accommodation. It was clear that the rooms have benefitted from a recent upgrade and we were treated to a massive kingsize bed (at no extra charge).

They serve a range of cask conditioned ales which went down well with hubby and I can highly recommend the Thai Restaurant opposite (Thai Brasserie) where we had a fantastic meal.

To round off our stay we were treatred to a mega full English which was clearly cooked freshly to order with no hint of some of the dried up items you sometimes get in the large chain hotels. Bacon, egg,sausage, mushrooms,beans black pudding,tomatio and hash brown = I dont think Ive missed anything off.

All in all a fantastic stay and great value - we will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallybowles100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

A well located, friendly B&B housed in a traditional pub, on a high street within 5 mins walk of Lake Windermere. The staff were very accommodating, and made helpful suggestions about parking, local restaurants and things to do. The rooms are spacious and well-presented, and the breakfast was great. Ruskins is a dog-friendly hotel, we hadn't taken our dogs to a B&B before, but it worked out well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jules2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,944 reviews
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin's

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ruskin's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin`s Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Ruskin's Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing