We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Sheer luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Just returned from our mini-moon at Linthwaite House, & from the moment we arrived, we were made to feel extremely welcome by the very friendly staff, our room ( 28) had it's own front door just along from the main reception, which we really liked, the room itself was very modern and trendy with everything you would need & more but still very cosy with a wood "effect" fire at the end of the HUGE bed!
The bathroom was amazing with a large bath & a very large shower /wet room,

The hotels reception rooms are all very tastefully decorated with roaring fires and amazing views, just what you need on a cold November afternoon!

We only sampled breakfast in the hotel restaurant as we chose to eat dinner in the town but it was really tasty with a large choice & very professionally served

We had a lovely walk around the gardens and tarn which are all very well looked after

On the whole we found this hotel and it's staff a real credit to its owners and will definitely be back

Would we recommend this hotel
To a friend?
"already have!"

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111PJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,172
    182
    48
    22
    20
See reviews for
163
990
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Only a short stay but could not fault any thing about this excellent hotel. Everybody makes you feel welcome and pamper your every need. Will be going back for a long weekend before the tear ends.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markjacksonmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thanks very much for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards from all the team at Linthwaite.

Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Having spent a few days at Linthwaite House Hotel in November 2010, thoroughly enjoying its many attributes, we sang its praises to friends and family. So it was wonderful to be invited by our daughter to join her for a few days again at the end of October so that she could "see for herself". [And to walk of course in some of the most spectacular scenery anywhere in the world.]

As on our previous visit, the experience was excellent. The hotel is cosy with an open fire burning in the hallway; comfortable sofas providing expansive views over Windemere; all day provision of sustenance; superb afternoon teas in front of the fire; warm, spotlessly clean, en-suite (with Molten Brown everything), well-equipped rooms - with even a turn-down service that is rarely seen these days, except on expensive cruise ships!

NB. Various sizes of brightly coloured wellies are in evidence in the porch, just in case you decide to do the must-do walk around the hotel grounds and you have forgotten to pack your own!

There was no shortage of choice at breakfast, cold or otherwise; both food and service quality were very good. Dinners were excellent, providing extensive & interesting menu choices, having already sampled some culinary delights in the form of canapes with the pre-prandials and complimentary amuse-bouche to start. Execution and service were impeccable throughout.

We are already booked in for a 3-night stay at the end of November with our friends from last year and look forward very much to our being able to repeat the experience with both friends and family for many more years to come.

PS. Are those folks from Macclesfield quite sure they stayed at the Linthwaite?

Room Tip: Depends on what you want from a room! We look for comfort and cleanliness above all. The Linthwaite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Wow! Thanks a million for your fantastic review from all of us at Linthwaite, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Regards
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Spent last Monday and Tuesday night at Linthwaite House for our 'Minimoon' in a Preferred Lake View room. Although expensive, this hotel it is well worth every penny! The hotel and grounds are fabulous. The public areas are spacious and beautifully decorated with warming fires and comfortable sofas with fantastic views over Lake Windermere from the conservatory. On a sunny but cold November day we walked around the hotel's own tarn and came across 'The Potting Shed' which was gloriously warm, where we sat in the sun in the peace and quiet watching the ducks, it was bliss. Our recently renovated room and bathroom was beautifully decorated with lovely lake views, very clean, huge very comfortable bed, fresh milk and the hotel's own filtered water in the fridge, Molton Brown toiletries etc etc. We stayed on dinner, bed & breakfast basis and the food was incredible. Pre-dinner canapes & amuse-bouche before the usual three courses. Extensive although expensive drinks menu. Breakfast was delicious with a very varied choice. The stay was made extra special for us by the staff who were incredibly professional, friendly and competent. They all work to very high standards and seemed to be genuinely happy to help and we felt very pampered during our stay. On our last dinner we were congratulated on our marriage and presented with champagne. I could ramble on about how wonderful our stay was but just to say to all at Linthwaite thank you very much and we are saving up to come back because quite simply nowhere else will do!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Many thanks for all your kind words.
We are very much aware people don't have to bother to make the effort to write a review and we all really appreciate it.
Glad you liked 'The Potting Shed' ; my wife just finished recently titivating it up.
When we bought the hotel over twenty years ago we used to escape there for a few minutes rest; it was bliss and re-charged the batteries. In the summer of course it's the swimming pool - wild swimming as they say nowadays.
Come back soon,
Regards
Mike Bevans & the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Popped down for some afternoon tea. The place was gorgeous, the food delicious and the service very good.

You couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmeister81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a two day break at The Linthwaite House Hotel and have read a scathing review recently put on this site from a family in Macclesfield. We cannot believe that this is the same hotel that we just left this morning. From the moment we arrived to the time of our departure nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who at all times acted in a most professional and courteous manner.

Our standard room with en suite bathroom was more than adequate and spotlessly clean and tidy.I was particularly pleased to find I could pick up Sky sports channels (if I required and had the time) something we don't have at home!!

With regard to the food, my wife and I found it to be of a very high standard and the waiter service in the restaurant was impeccable.

This was our first visit to The Linthwaite and most definitely won't be the last!!!

Stuart & Sandra Neil, Altrincham

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

The Linthwaite House Hotel rests above Windermere Lake and has exceptional views of the lake. The welcome as you arrive is informal and already you begin to relax. The rooms are very comfortable and we have now stayed in a variety of the rooms available. All are furnished to a very high standard. The staff are caring and have time to spend with the guests without being pushy. The food was excellent and the wine list was extensive.
Altogether a great break in the Lakes

Room Tip: A superior standard is very good for comfort although the standard rooms are excellent value and ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing