We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation, superb staff and lovely food. What more can you say!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, superb staff and lovely food. What more can you say!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We have just been for the fourth time. Everything gets better each time we come. The slightest problem and the staff sort it out. Food superb. Unfortunately weather was not brilliant but that is not the fault of the hotel!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Not going to mention my favourite otherwise we won't be able to get in agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshirecheshire13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,172
    182
    48
    22
    20
See reviews for
163
990
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Arrived Friday evening in the rain- glowing fire and reception and then for us a perfect meal
Quail/foix gras back pudding then partridge and local cheeses- Having generations of family in the business the attention to detail and service was 100%.
The weekend was then warm and sunny and the food was perfect=for me-my friends would have perhaps liked more vegetables
Location unbeatable
Wines- huge choice-you do not need to go for the dearest!
Overall one of the best weekends ever.
I am not a hotelier etc-GP-Cheshire!
Will go again
NOC

Room Tip: Down stairs bigger and cooler if in nearer part-otherwise told underfloor heeating
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 810Nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Just had two fabulous nights at Linthwaite House. This is certainly our favourite Lake District Hotel and the 3rd time we have stopped. The food was a little disappointing last time, nearly 2 years ago, but this time it was superb; incredibly fresh local ingredients and brilliant service. We were able to take advantage of an offer so it was even better to enjoy the hotel's ambiance as we near Christmas at a reduced price. We're definitely going back again.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade to a 'superior' room. If you are offered a lake view bite their hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekendfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I am finding it hard to express how incredibly disappointed we were with our stay here. We went for a two night weekend and at the cost of five hundred pounds found the staff inattentive, the view to be one of a fence and the breakfast small and cold. The manager's response to our feedback was flippant and arrogant, responding to our complaint about breakfast with 'in future send it back' - hardly five star! Overall we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thanks for taking the trouble to share your views. I am of course sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We do try hard as you can see from the many reviews below, and get it right most of the time.
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The Linthwaite is our favourite hotel in the Lake District. We recently discovered they have a couple of rooms with their own front doors that open out straight onto the gardens and woodland. This meant our rather busy Cocker Spaniel didn't have to embarrass himself traipsing through smart hotel corridors with muddy paws and was very convenient last thing at night and first thing in the morning! Like all the other rooms at the hotel our room was spacious, beautifully appointed and spotless. The staff were incredibly accommodating offering doggy bowls and whatever else we had forgotten to bring. We didn't think it possible but The Linthwaite just went up another notch. Here's to the next luxury dog walking weekend in the Lakes!

Room Tip: Dog lovers should ask for Room 26 with its own front door opening out on to gardens, woodland and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell_Bragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
What can we say?
Woof woof possibly! Delighted you enjoyed the stay at Linthwaite so much, and it really has been a great success since Andy our Manager introduced these rooms.
Come back soon,
Regards
Mike and all of the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

I realise I’m being uncharacteristically positive in this review but if there’s one hotel I’ve stayed in recently that deserves praising it’s Linthwaite House. To be honest the hotel isn’t much to look at as you approach it up the steep drive but from then on it just keeps getting better. The views (weather permitting)of lake Windermere are wonderful, the grounds are well kept and interesting to walk around and the hotel manages to strike a perfect balance of classic English country house style with modern standards and facilities.

There are a number of public lounges all well stocked with newspapers & magazines and plenty of comfy sofas. There are fires burning day and night and plenty of places to generally relax in. All this is achieved in a completely natural, totally unstuffy way and you feel completely at home. The bedrooms that we stayed in were modern but I mean that in a “modern with taste and class” rather than “utilitarian” way. Very comfortable beds and very easy to sleep in late. Which would be a shame because you wouldn’t want to miss breakfast or any of the meals. We stayed on a DB&B basis and the food was superb. Dinner was the highlight of the day and included canapés and four courses of really superb quality. There were typically five or six choices per course and a very comprehensive wine list to go with them.

Probably though the thing that really sets this hotel apart from the competition is the staff. They are exceptional. Mainly young they are all confident, friendly and genuinely helpful. I honestly can’t think of anything negative to say about any of them which is a real change from the norm these days. It’s a real credit to the owner & management of the hotel that they manage to recruit and retain folks like this – it makes a huge difference to guests and is really appreciated.

Finally it’s got to be said Linthwaite house isn’t cheap but it is worth it. If we could afford it we’d spend new year there but it’s more likely we’ll be somewhere where I can get back to writing my usual, more critical style of review on TA!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby S.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Well thanks very much indeed from all the unstuffy staff at Linthwaite for your wonderful review. It's our aim to be unstuffy so it's really gratifying when you the hotel guests appreciates that.
I am sure there are some other hotels just as good and even better than Linthwaite elsewhere and I hope you will find them (I can recommend a couple!).
But please just come back here if you aren't sure!
Kind regards and many thanks,
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed one night at Linthwaite in the hot tub suite and had an amazing time throughout our visit.
Spending a Friday night drinking wine in a hot tub with beautiful views of the lake would have been enough to make the stay memorable, but every aspect was special.
The room was beautifully decorated and absolutely gleaming and the hotel has a plush, welcoming lounge and conservatory not only with breath-taking views, but open fires.
The staff are friendly and genuinely very helpful and they help make the hotel as nice as it is.
Food is heavenly, although portion sizes may leave you craving a slice of toast afterwards if you'd tackled an eight mile hike earlier in the day.
The Linthwaite experience does come with quite a price tag but it would help make a special occasion very memorable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanbag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Many thanks for your kind review and I am delighted you enjoye R21 with the hot tub. It is a wonderful experience (I'd like to try it when we have snow on the ground).
Regarding the food; we are always very happy to give (not charge) you more of anything if you need it.
Come back soo,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Owner and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing