We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent,attention to detail makes the difference”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We recently stayed for 1 night to celebrate my wifes brithday,we have been for meals before but never stayed.The situation is superb high overlooking Lake Windermere,the sun enhanced it.We opted for a larger room with a king sized bed as i am rather tall,its worth paying the extra.All the staff are friendly but efficient,they remember your name.We started with afternoon tea,the scones were lovely although a little small.At dinner canapas are served first which is a nice touch,the dinner itself was full of interesting and beautifull flavours,the helpings were a little small particuarly the cod starter but you dont feel bloated after the meal.We are quite well travelled and it makes all the difference when somebody with experience is in charge of he bar and restuarant which is the case here,she was very good.The atmosphere in the hotel is relaxed,it has all the usual facilities without being too big.Breakfast was outstanding,my full cooked was made to order,research has been done to source the best flavour products.The roasted plums beforehand were unique but tasty and the blueberry pancakes out of this world.I would strongly recommend this hotel and with the Winter offers on represents good value for money taking into account the whole holiday expereince.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangerinelancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
There are newer reviews for Linthwaite House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is a really, really impressive Hotel with an understated elegance. Most importantly, everything works with maximum efficiency (the rooms, international travel adaptors and arrangements for dinner!). The staff are very professional, very friendly, very helpful and obviously well trained and led. Room service (fresh milk) appears in less than a minute of calling. Assistance with luggage gladly given. First class toiletries for the bathroom. I Iooked hard for things to criticise and was found wanting. The public areas of the Hotel are beautifully furnished in a country house (almost Club) manner. It being winter (log fires abound), we did not explore the gardens, but they appear extensive. The Restaurant is wonderful. Local produce cooked beautifully. An extensive wine list, including by the glass. Focussed waiters, discretely servicing their tables. A serious and confident Hotel. Well done.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicholasAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I dont normally write reviews but having read some of the very few negative reviews I felt I had to lend my weight to counter them as I dont recognise their desctption of their experience. We first visited Linthwaite in 2008 and decided to use it as a wedding venue that June as we were having a very small civil ceremony. We were made to feel so special by the staff and their attentiveness that it really added to out day. Our parents were so delighted with it they have stayed several times since and have recommended to friends who have also stayed. We came back in 2011 for an aniversary meal and stayed at the start of January in 2012 for dinner bed and breakfast for 2 nights. The quality and care given to us by the staff over the three years has been of the highist standard throughout. The food has always been sublime. Having had the evening meal and breakfast the next day, we managed a 9 mile walk before returing for dinner the second night. Despite the activity we only managed a scone for lunch whilst out and about. No, this isnt the cheapest hotel in the area but in our opinion it must be the best.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

A big thank you from all of us for the wonderful review. We try to get it right all of the time of course, but are never complacent as things do happen occasionally.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Mike & all the team at Linthwaite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I booked Linthwaite as a special treat for my girlfriend's birthday.
Prior to arriving, I emailed the hotel staff to see if they could help organise some flowers and champagne for our room. They responded very promptly asking what type of champagne and flowers I wanted and how much to spend. The professionalism and efficiency of the staff was obvious and was reflected in a beautiful bouquet of lilies and irises and house champagne all present and correct in our first room.
This was a standard double (room 28) and although beautifully appointed and clean, there was a problem with the bathroom which we contacted reception about shortly after arrival. They very quickly offered us an upgrade to a preferred double in the main house which we accepted and were quickly installed in our new room with a minimum of fuss.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on two nights out of three and found the food and service beyond reproach. Breakfast was lovely each day and staff were very attentive.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would be keen to return perhaps when the weather is better in summer.
Having read some of the negative comments, I felt compelled to write this review to repudiate the disparaging remarks regarding food, quality of service and staff. These bear no resemblance whatsoever to the care and attention we received at Linthwaite. I think the calibre of these guests can be inferred from their literacy levels and some categorically xenophobic comments in a large proportion of the "terrible" reviews.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJdoc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I booked a 3 night stay from 5th Jan, as a suprise for my husband to celebrate his 50th birthday and it was simply perfect. All of the staff were warm, friendly and welcoming. Andy Nicholsons memory for the names of all of his guests is truely impressive. Staying at the Linthwaite is more akin to a staying in the home of a good friend. The hotel offers the luxury of someone waiting on you hand and foot but is so totally unpretentious that you can curl up on one of the extremely comfortable sofas and doze or read or take tea or do absolutely nothing. The food was sublime, the menus so well thought out that even with only 4 or 5 choices decisions are extremely difficult to make, it is obvious that the chef is dedicated to his art, the food was complemented with an equally impressive wine list. The breakfast is so appetising and delicious - who wants full english when you can have smoked haddock with rarebit and free range poached eggs? The hotel is peaceful and quiet but not stuffy - we and the charming couple we met, who were in their 70's, were thrilled to be the last going to bed at 12.30am on the Saturday evening.The service at dinner on the Saturday evening was very slow, however this in no way would prevent me from either returning or recommending this hotel. The weather was atrocious but we didn't notice!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We booked to stay at the Linthwaite (3rd - 6th Jan) for mine and my wifes birthday and also our dog. Upon arrival the welcome was very friendly by the staff and our room was lovely. The food was lovely and the attention to detail on every plate was out of this world, especially the beef !! For anyone who has a dog there is plenty of walking areas around the hotel and a lovely tarn which you can feed the ducks. A big thanks to the cleaning staff who were very accomodating when they were cleaning our room. They came down straight away in the morning so i could get the dog out of the room (so they were not left with a mad labrador in the room) which considering they had 30 other rooms to clean was a great credit to them. All of the staff are very polite and will do anything for you. I would like to thank Mike and all his staff for making our birthday week a relaxing and enjoyable stay and look forward to booking again in the near future.

Kate + Chris Dawson

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisdawson32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Love the open fires, afternoon tea and big comfy sofas. Staff are friendly and very helpful. You go away feeling rested, pampered and content with life. Food is scruptious too!

Thank janelledarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £189 - £531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing